• Thu
  • Dec 18, 2014
  • Updated: 4:32pm

In partnership with the HKRFU

Six Nations Championship

The Six Nations Championship is an annual international rugby union competition involving the top six European sides: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

Six Nations

England deny O’Driscoll landmark win

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 23 February, 2014, 2:16am
UPDATED : Sunday, 23 February, 2014, 3:13pm

England fought back to spoil Ireland great Brian O’Driscoll’s record-equalling test appearance with a 13-10 Six Nations victory at Twickenham on Saturday.

Ireland’s loss, their fourth in a row to England, dashed dreams of a grand slam for O’Driscoll, who equalled former Australia great George Gregan’s record of 139 test caps, in the centre’s final season before retirement.

It also meant no team in this season’s Six Nations will complete a coveted clean sweep of victories.

A breathless first half ended with England just 3-0 ahead thanks to an Owen Farrell penalty.

But Ireland hit back with a converted try from fullback Rob Kearney early in the second half.

Farrell’s second penalty cut Ireland’s lead and then England scrum half Danny Care was put clear for a match-winning converted try.

The win was just reward for England, seven points behind early in the second half.

They outmauled Ireland while, behind the scrum, fullback man of the match Mike Brown impressed in attack and defence.

Ireland, with O’Driscoll fit following a stomach bug, were unchanged from the side that overwhelmed two-time defending champions Wales 26-3 but England, fresh from their 20-0 thrashing of Scotland in Edinburgh, were forced into making one change.

David Wilson replaced Dan Cole after the tighthead prop suffered a season-ending neck injury.


Related topics

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive




SCMP.com Account