HK Women’s Sevens

Women’s Rugby

Ten teams announced for Hong Kong Women’s Sevens

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 10 March, 2016, 4:41pm
UPDATED : Friday, 11 March, 2016, 10:32am

Ten international teams will take part as the Hong Kong Women’s Rugby Sevens marks its 19th year, making it the world’s longest running international women’s rugby sevens competition.

Nine national teams from four continents alongside hosts Hong Kong will compete: Argentina, China, France, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Thailand.

“I’m excited at how the tournament has progressed over the years,” said Ruth Mitchell, tournament director for the HKWRS and director of development for the HKRU.

“Hong Kong is the longest established women’s sevens tournament in the world and we have had 38 international teams participate over the past 19 years.

"This year, for the first time, all of the teams have played in the tournament before, so we can expect a high standard of play and with plenty of Asian teams involved, the rivalry is sure to be intense.”

Of the participating teams, France, Kenya and Japan have already qualified for the Rio Olympics in August when rugby will return to the Games for the first time since 1924.

France and Japan are also participating on the HSBC Women’s Sevens Series this season with France in fourth place in the standings and Japan 11th of the 12 core teams.

Both teams have figured in recent HKWRS Cup finals. Japan lost 19-12 to Canada last year, while France were beaten 24-0 by Canada in 2014.