Asian Five Nations

Organised by the Asian Rugby Football Union, now known as Asia Rugby, the annual A5N featured 25 national teams in six divisions and was the leading 15-a-side competition in the region. It was replaced in 2015 by the Asia Rugby Championship.

Hong Kong face South Korea in bid for second spot in Asian Five Nations

Hong Kong faces South Korea in bid for second spot in Asian Five Nations

A second-placed finish in the HSBC Asian Five Nations Top Five competition today will give Hong Kong a boost of confidence as they target a place in the repechage event at the World Cup qualifying campaign next year, says skipper Tom McColl.

Saturday, 1 March, 2014, 3:44pm

Hong Kong to miss giant lock forward Dan Watson in final Asian Five Nations outing

Leigh Jones.

Hong Kong will miss giant lock forward Dan Watson and things might not be just so "elementary" when they come up against South Korea in their final outing in the HSBC Asian Five Nations Top Five competition in Ansan on Saturday.

1 Mar 2014 - 3:35pm

Hong Kong tame Volcanoes 52-20 in A5N Top Five after early scare

Hong Kong hooker Tom Bolland attempts to power through the Philippine defence in their A5N Top Five match at Rizal Stadium.

The fire and brimstone from the Philippines "Volcanoes" lasted a bit longer than expected before it subsided to give Hong Kong an ultimately comfortable 59-20 victory in the HSBC Asian Five Nations Top Five competition in Manila.

1 Mar 2014 - 3:17pm

Media, fans boost Philippines ahead of Hong Kong clash

Hong Kong had a bruising clash with Japan last week. Photo: AFP

A buzz of excitement surrounding the first home game for the Philippines at the elite level in the HSBC Asian Five Nations has put Hong Kong on guard as they hope to secure their berth in the Top Five competition for next year's 2015 World Cup qualifying campaign.

1 Mar 2014 - 3:33pm

Hong Kong urged to field team in Japan’s Top League

Brave Blossoms' head coach Eddie Jones. Photo: Oliver Tsang

Hong Kong has again been asked to field a team in Japan's professional Top League - this time by Brave Blossoms' head coach Eddie Jones, who believes a franchise based here would help the national squad close the gap on the perennial Asian champions.

20 May 2014 - 9:46pm

Hong Kong make Japan work hard for victory

Hong Kong hooker Alex Harris (centre) tackles Japan’s Harumichi Tatekawa in their Asian Five Nations match yesterday. Photo: Jonathan Wong

It seemed as if the foundations of the Great Wall had been moved to Hong Kong Football Club yesterday as Japan floundered on a brave and unyielding Hong Kong defensive line at the Asian Five Nations Top Five competition before running out 38-0 winners.

1 Mar 2014 - 3:04pm

Hong Kong must go pro to test Japan, says Eddie Jones

Eddie Jones

Hong Kong can pose a threat to Japan's dominance in Asia, says Brave Blossoms head coach Eddie Jones, but not today and only if the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union decides to go down the road of professionalism.

1 Mar 2014 - 3:31pm

Absence of Fukuoka cold comfort for Hong Kong

Japanese coach Eddie Jones.

Fukuoka, 20, thrilled home fans last Saturday when he scored with his first two touches of the ball after coming on as a second-half substitute against the Philippines. His brace was just a small part of the 18-try, 121-0 romp over the newly promoted side, but he is sidelined with a hamstring injury.

7 Apr 2014 - 6:39pm

Chris McAdam likely to miss rest of A5N event because of rib injuries

Chris McAdam.

Hong Kong flyhalf McAdam was hurt in the opening minutes of last Saturday's opener against the United Arab Emirates but it was thought that his injury was minor. Subsequent examination has confirmed the worst.

1 Mar 2014 - 3:02pm

Hong Kong rusty in eight-try romp over UAE

Hong Kong winger Jonny Rees surges past UAE defenders to score a try in his team's eight-try victory over the visitors. Photo: Jonathan Wong

It is strange that Hong Kong's 53-7 performance against the United Arab Emirates should be depicted as "ponderous", but there was none of the fluidity expected from an eight-try romp and it was brave of captain Tom McColl and coach Leigh Jones to admit as much after the first hurdle in a crucial campaign had been overcome.

1 Mar 2014 - 3:14pm

No rivalry between 15s and Sevens, says skipper McColl

Hong Kong coach Leigh Jones and captain Tom McColl. Photo: Xinhua

None of the 12 players in the sevens squad is available for the Asian Five Nations, which kicks off today, as they focus on their campaign to become an IRB Sevens World Series core team at next month's London Sevens.

7 Apr 2014 - 6:41pm

UAE skipper concedes likely Hong Kong win in Asian Five Nations match

Hong Kong winger Rowan Varty (far right) scored four tries in last December's A5N match against the United Arab Emirates. Photo: SCMP

With four convincing wins in their last four meetings Hong Kong are odds-on favourites to crush the United Arab Emirates in the opening game of this season's Asian Five Nations Top Five competition at Hong Kong Football Club on Saturday, and opposing captain Brett Williams has candidly admitted that already.

7 Apr 2014 - 8:01pm

Home-grown prop Leon Wei to start for Hong Kong against UAE

Hong Kong head coach Leigh Jones. Photo: Nora Tam

Wei is one of four new faces in the 22-strong squad named yesterday by head coach Leigh Jones, but is the only one who will start. The other debutants are DeA front-rower James Cooper, Hong Kong Football Club flanker Will Hunt and Hong Kong Scottish back Dave Whiteford.

17 Apr 2013 - 5:28am 1 comment

Sevens players out of Hong Kong squad for Asian Five Nations UAE clash

Hong Kong coach Leigh Jones.

Hong Kong will field a squad missing their Sevens players for the opening game in the Asian Five Nations against the United Arab Emirates at Hong Kong Football Club on Saturday but coach Leigh Jones was optimistic the job of staying in the Top Five could be done without the star complement.

13 Feb 2014 - 2:31am 1 comment

Korea tensions cloud Hong Kong rugby plans

Trevor Gregory

Hong Kong's match against South Korea in the Asian Five Nations Top Five competition is under a cloud with the Asian Rugby Football Union (Arfu) and the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union (HKRFU) concerned about tensions on the Korean peninsula.

1 Mar 2014 - 4:00pm