• Thu
  • Jul 24, 2014
  • Updated: 2:58pm

Bank of China

Bank of China is one of the big four state-owned commercial banks of the People's Republic of China – the other three are Industrial and Commercial Bank of China, China Construction Bank and Agricultural Bank of China. Bank of China was founded in 1912 to replace the Government Bank of Imperial China, and is the oldest bank in China. From its establishment until 1942, it issued banknotes on behalf of the Government of the Republic of China along with the "Big Four" banks of the period: the Central Bank of China, Farmers Bank of China and Bank of Communications. Although it initially functioned as the Chinese central bank, in 1928 the Central Bank of China replaced it in that role. Subsequently, BOC became a purely commercial bank.

BOC beefs up in push for larger share of debt market

Bank of China is hiring traders and sales people as it sets up a high-yield bond trading platform to boost market share and cement its position as one of Asia's top 10 debt underwriters.

Thursday, 17 July, 2014, 1:22am 1 comment

Heat from CCTV exposé unlikely to hit mainland cash outflows

Overseas investment flows from the mainland are likely to suffer only a minor setback in the wake of a scandal that has embroiled one of its biggest banks in a row over alleged breaches of strict foreign exchange controls.

16 Jul 2014 - 1:15am

China must come clean on capital transfers abroad

Contrary to what you would expect under the mainland's tight capital controls, an outflow of Chinese money is fuelling Western asset markets, especially for property, which suggests investors must be circumventing the regulations.

15 Jul 2014 - 8:45am 4 comments

Investing between the lines in China

Except for lawbreakers, most investors around the world analyse the same information when they make asset allocation calls.

15 Jul 2014 - 1:24am 1 comment

Bank of China-CCTV drama may reveal power struggle in Beijing

Late paramount leader Deng Xiaoping is often remembered for his quotation about the way Beijing should try to reform its economic system: "One should cross the river while feeling the stones".

14 Jul 2014 - 7:38am

Fears of tough action by Beijing following allegation BOC launders money

The Bank of China cash-transfer service at the centre of money laundering allegations could escalate the sabre-rattling between the mainland's liberal-minded bankers and conservative regulators.

12 Jul 2014 - 4:36am 3 comments

Like Bank of China, Citic Bank also offers service branded 'money laundering' by CCTV

State broadcaster CCTV has accused the Bank of China of offering a money laundering service to wealthy mainlanders and helping them to siphon cash out of the country.

13 Jul 2014 - 1:23pm 14 comments

Bank of China vice-president resigns after allegations of affairs

A vice-president of China's fourth-largest bank has resigned after he was investigated and subsequently cleared of suspicion of corruption by the Communist Party's top disciplinary body, mainland media reported.

20 Apr 2014 - 9:02am 5 comments

China and UK in talks over London yuan clearing bank

The British and Chinese governments are in "active discussions" to appoint a clearing bank in London, a move seen as further eating into Hong Kong's market share of the offshore yuan business and cementing the Western city's leading position in the global offshore yuan hub race.

21 Feb 2014 - 3:19pm

BOC Hong Kong fends off new competition in yuan trading

Bank of China (Hong Kong), which is 66.06 per cent owned by Bank of China, is considering extending its operating hours to cater to demand from overseas customers, especially from the United States.

17 Feb 2014 - 5:43am