Book review

Book review: Wave, a Memoir of Life After the Tsunami

The Indian Ocean tsunami of December 26, 2004 killed at least 275,000 people in a dozen countries. Photo: AFP

On December 26, 2004, when the tsunami broke across the shores of the Indian Ocean, killing at least 275,000 people in a dozen countries, my three small children and I were paddling in the sea in Mumbai. We all noticed an unusually high, strong riptide that morning, but it was not until we returned to the hotel that we learnt how lucky we had been.

Sunday, 14 April, 2013, 5:35pm

Book review: The Lius of Shanghai, by Sherman Cochran and Andrew Hsieh

A child cries amid the devastation of a bombing raid on Shanghai during the Sino-Japanese war, part of the backdrop toThe Lius of Shanghai.Photo: AP

"At that moment I felt that the fire of war had burned its way to the front door of my own home." These were the words of the sixth son of a wealthy Shanghai family when the Japanese army attacked the city in August 1937 in one of the most intense battles of world history.

14 Apr 2013 - 4:58pm

Book review: Queer Singapore, by Audrey Yue, Jun Zubillago-Pow

Book review: Queer Singapore, by Audrey Yue, Jun Zubillago-Pow

This compilation of thematic essays explores the challenges of being LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered) within a society where broad-ranging official discrimination remains a legal fact.

14 Apr 2013 - 5:00pm

E-books/audiobooks: Fiction

E-books/audiobooks: Fiction

Before Patrick Ness conquered the world as a "young adult" author with his game-changing Chaos Walking trilogy and beautiful A Monster Calls, he wrote strange, scurrilous fiction for adults. The Crane Wife, then

14 Apr 2013 - 5:10pm

Book review: The Bankers' New Clothes, by Anat Admati and Martin Hellwig

Book review: The Bankers' New Clothes, by Anat Admati and Martin Hellwig

Rewind to the global financial crisis of 2008. Then, it seemed clear that dramatic reform was needed to clear up the mess triggered by the collapse of global financial services firm Lehman Brothers.

14 Apr 2013 - 5:01pm

E-books/audiobooks review: non-fiction

E-books/audiobooks review: non-fiction

This is the book to read when you can no longer stand having a boss. But it is not going to hold your hand and show you how to create passive income streams. In fact, it is all about author Zachariah Rigby and how he has made money from doing something on his own: write an e-book

14 Apr 2013 - 5:38pm

Author Minfong Ho's work in refugee camps informs her acclaimed novels

Writer Minfong Ho (in red) with her children (from left) Christopher, Mary and Danfung, and her husband John Dennis.

The Killing Fields of Cambodia are not typical material for young adult fiction. But they form the basis for two exceptional young adult novels by Minfong Ho, a writer who grew up in Thailand and worked as a nutritionist in the refugee camps on the Thai-Cambodian border in the early 1980s.

5 Mar 2013 - 5:15pm

Book review: The Hedge Fund Mirage

Book review: The Hedge Fund Mirage

You would think that a person who made a living allocating to hedge funds for more than a decade would take a kinder view of this sector. But Simon Lack, a money manager, earlier this year released a book with devastating conclusions about hedge funds.

17 Dec 2012 - 5:31am

Book review: Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino

Book review: Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino

There are no high-speed car chases, shoot-outs or serial killers on the loose in acclaimed Japanese author Keigo Higashino's intriguing third murder mystery featuring "Detective Galileo".

3 Dec 2012 - 6:54pm

Photo-book gives powerful testimony to plight of Myanmar's Rohingya minority

Photo-book gives powerful testimony to plight of Myanmar's Rohingya minority

In documenting the plight of Myanmar's stateless Rohingya minority, roving photographer Greg Constantine has produced an important work at a crucial time: Exiled to Nowhere - Burma's Rohingya comes as the troubles of the ethnic Muslims are again seeping into the regional consciousness.

30 Sep 2012 - 4:02pm

Huge changes in mainland's sexual attitudes

Huge changes in mainland's sexual attitudes

Richard Burger suggests a sexual reawakening has long been under way on the mainland, with a rapidly altering sexual landscape filled with unmarried sexual partners, flourishing sex shops, mistresses and an increasingly wifeless generation of young men.

30 Sep 2012 - 3:48pm

The real significance of gene doping

The real significance of gene doping

The Olympic Isle on opening night in July was full of sweet noises and good intentions. But beneath the fantasy a sewer ran, diverted but untamed: the spectre of doping. And not just doping, because this is the age of genomics: gene doping.

30 Sep 2012 - 4:43pm