Central and Wan Chai Reclamation

New land formed by reclamation offers resettlement option for residents

I refer to the editorial ('There's enough land already available', February 23), and the article ('Harbour 'cheaper route to gain land'', February 20).

Wednesday, 14 March, 2012, 12:00am

Mainland property speculators will gain from reclamation, not HK citizens

I do not support any further attempt by the government to create more land through reclamation projects.

The reason for my opposition is simple. The land obtained from any reclamation plan will not end up making Hong Kong more spacious and a better place to live.

1 Mar 2012 - 12:00am

Harbour 'cheaper route to gain land'

Reclaiming land to provide sites for development may be controversial - but the cost could be less than half that of freeing up rural land for housing or industrial use.

20 Feb 2012 - 12:00am

Reclamation is fast but should be a last resort

To reclaim or not to reclaim, that is the question in the spotlight once again. The Civil Engineering and Development Department has begun a consultation to obtain the public's views on strategies to increase land supply.

Hongkongers are divided over the idea of reclaiming land outside Victoria Harbour.

12 Jan 2012 - 12:00am

Reclamation projects should be allowed if they lead to harbour improvements

The 'Proportionality Principle on Reclamation of Victoria Harbour', which was developed by the Society for Protection of the Harbour at the request of the Harbourfront Commission, recently attracted much attention both from the news media and the general public. This is because of the importance of the harbour to Hong Kong.

13 Sep 2011 - 12:00am

What we need is a harbour authority

Once bitten, twice shy, is no way to manage Hong Kong's most important natural asset, Victoria Harbour. Yet that is how the government would seem to have approached turning the waterfront over to public use since losing a High Court ruling on reclamation seven years ago.

12 Sep 2011 - 12:00am

Stalled harbour plans can proceed

The development minister says the goodwill expressed by harbour protection activists over reclamation will encourage her colleagues to put forward small projects to enhance the harbourfront.

11 Jun 2015 - 4:33pm

Churches seek judicial review

Two churches in Wan Chai are pursuing judicial challenges against the Town Planning Board over a decision to restrict their building heights, saying it would hamper their ability to provide health and welfare services.

27 Jul 2011 - 12:00am

Buying back tunnels is fiddling at the margins of traffic gridlock

The odd conclusion in the study to resolve the traffic distribution among the three harbour crossings is that buying back the two privately owned tunnels should be discussed after 2017 when the Central-Wan Chai bypass is ready and the eastern tunnel is returned to the government ('Consultant offers nine scenarios to ease traffic', November 4).

6 Nov 2010 - 12:00am

Bit by bit, we're moving from saving to enjoying the harbour

The Society for Protection of the Harbour appreciates your excellent editorial ('A missed opportunity to protect our harbour', February 22).

1 Mar 2010 - 12:00am

Carrie Lam deserves praise for waterfront improvement efforts

All those who care about Victoria Harbour and a better use of the waterfront should be grateful to Development Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor for putting harbourfront enhancement firmly on the government's agenda.

10 Dec 2009 - 12:00am

New route 10 years in the planning

1999 Government proposes building bypass to ease traffic congestion

2002 Administration gazettes plan for bypass with Wan Chai North outline zoning plan for public consultation. Plan involves reclamation of 26 hectares in Wan Chai North

2003 Harbour protection society seeks judicial review against decisions of Town Planning Board, which approved bypass plan

21 May 2009 - 12:00am

Seize the chance for a world-class waterfront

Hong Kong citizens have been badly conned over the Central Harbourfront. First we were told that there was an 'overriding public need' for a Central-Wan Chai bypass and the MTR Sha Tin-Central rail link. This necessitated reclamation work, which destroyed such well-loved landmarks as the Star Ferry and Queen's piers.

17 May 2008 - 12:00am

Government transparency key to better planning decisions

H. C. Bee ('We must get our priorities right', May 6) doubts society knows how to weigh its priorities so that our city can advance. I have no doubt Hong Kong does know how to do that.

12 May 2008 - 12:00am

Letters

Helipad will be bad for environment

6 May 2008 - 12:00am

Pages