Diaoyu Islands

The Diaoyu Islands are a group of uninhabited islands located roughly due east of mainland China, northeast of Taiwan, west of Okinawa Island, and north of the southwestern end of the Ryukyu Islands. They are currently controlled by Japan, which calls them Senkaku Islands. Both China and Taiwan claim sovereignty over the islands. 

Vessels from the China Maritime Surveillance and the Japan Coast Guard near the disputed Diaoyu Islands. Photo: Reuters

Ships patrol Diaoyu Islands in advance of anniversary

China and Japan entered into a fresh round of bitter exchanges over their territorial row in the East China Sea yesterday - one day ahead of the anniversary of Japan's purchase of the disputed Diaoyu Islands.