The Group of Seven (G7) originated in 1975 as the Group of Six (France, West Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States), representing the largest economies in the world. It was joined by Canada in 1976. 

Participants attend a 100-day countdown event for the Group of 20 summit in Hangzhou. Photo: Xinhua

Countdown to G20: 100 days for China to take the international lead

Compared to past years, the 2016 Group of Seven summit, which ended last week, received considerably less coverage in Chinese state media.

Its final communiqué even earned a strong rebuke from the foreign ministry because it expressed concerns over the South China Sea.

  • 1
  • 2