• Tue
  • Sep 23, 2014
  • Updated: 9:30pm

HSBC Sevens World Series

The HSBC Sevens World Series – formerly known as the IRB Sevens World Series – consists of nine tournaments held worldwide each year between October and May.

Coming to a game near you: IRB joins IOC’s fight against match-fixing

Penalties, dropped passes, forward passes or even missed tackles might all be viewed with suspicion in future, and will come under scrutiny with the International Rugby Board reaffirming its commitment to the fight against illegal betting, match-fixing and corruption.

Saturday, 21 June, 2014, 11:43pm

‘Magnificent’ New Zealand cement status as Olympic favourites

New Zealand rugby chief Steve Tew hailed the All Blacks sevens side in winning a fourth successive world series crown to solidify their status as gold medal favourites at the 2016 Olympics.

12 May 2014 - 6:15pm

Video: Glasgow Sevens highlights

Watch highlights from the 2014 Glasgow Sevens, which took place last weekend with New Zealand beating Canada 54-7 in the Cup final. Included in the IRB video packages is action from both days of the penultimate tournament on the HSBC Sevens World Series, plus a selection of the event’s seven best tries.

9 May 2014 - 1:34pm

New Zealand have sevens title in grasp after Glasgow success

New Zealand were on the brink of winning their 12th IRB Sevens World Series title in 15 years after beating surprise finalists Canada 54-7 in the climax of the Glasgow tournament on Sunday.

5 May 2014 - 12:41pm

March dates may change if Hong Kong secures last leg

The Hong Kong Sevens will have to be pushed back a fortnight to mid-April in 2016 if the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union's ambition to become the climactic final leg of the IRB Sevens World Series is to be realised.

1 Apr 2014 - 12:31pm

Hong Kong could host final leg of 2016 World Series, says IRB official

Hong Kong will be considered to become the climactic final leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series in 2016, top sevens official Avan Lee said as all stakeholders and the International Rugby Board were to meet in the city on Monday to discuss the game’s well-being and future.

31 Mar 2014 - 12:40am

Blitzbokke ‘will come back stronger’, says coach Neil Powell

A major upset had been threatening to reveal itself all day and the Australians came to the party as the clock ticked down on day two.

30 Mar 2014 - 1:43am

IRB raises stakes in core-team qualifying race

The stakes in the qualifying race for core-team status were raised on the eve of the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens with the International Rugby Board announcing the winner of the 12-team second-tier tournament can join the big boys for the last two legs in Scotland and England.

8 May 2014 - 2:51pm

Video: Tokyo Sevens

Watch highlights from both days of the Tokyo Sevens, which wrapped up on Sunday with hosts Fiji beating defending champions South Africa in the dying seconds. The 33-26 Cup final victory was Fiji’s second of the HSBC Sevens World Series season, matching the two tournament-wins by both South Africa and New Zealand. A fifth-straight final appearance moved the Blitzbokke back to the top of the overall standings, two points above the All Blacks Sevens.

24 Mar 2014 - 9:19am

South Africa out to reach fifth straight World Series final in Tokyo

South Africa will try to reach their fifth straight HSBC Sevens World Series final and inch ahead of reigning series champions New Zealand when they defend their Tokyo crown this weekend.

22 Mar 2014 - 10:24pm