Land Reclamation

Letters to the Editor, June 15, 2013

Barbarians and the Lions at Hong Kong Stadium. Photo: AP

Land exchange best hope for urban growth

I refer to Jake van der Kamp's column ("Land exchange is not the way forward", June 6) in reply to my letter ("Adopt land exchange for new town", June 5).

Saturday, 15 June, 2013, 1:53am

Land reclamation is not the answer to public housing shortage

Newly reclaimed land from Central to Wan Chai and what it used to look like with the old Star Ferry Pier. Photo: Sam Tsang

Passions were running high last Saturday as government officials met the public for the second stage of consultation on reclamation in Hong Kong waters.

17 May 2013 - 3:17am 1 comment

Cut in HK's projected population leads to land bank rethink

Possible reclamation sites

A drastic reduction in the city's projected population has led to calls for the government to scale back plans for more land reclamation and overhaul its strategy for building up a land bank.

20 Aug 2012 - 10:43am

'We didn't reclaim in cement test'

Working underneath the seabed does not constitute reclamation, the Airport Authority said yesterday in defence of its decision to carry out a trial project for the proposed third runway without first informing the public.

26 May 2012 - 12:00am

Harbour authority could soon become a reality

A new authority to oversee a 'revolution' on Hong Kong's waterfront could be one of the first projects for the next administration.

18 Apr 2012 - 12:00am

Letters

Small classes can help bridge gap

Upon reading the report, 'Minorities tested to the limit' (April 2), it became clear to me that it is important for the government to address the needs of ethnic minority students.

9 Apr 2012 - 12:00am

Mainland property speculators will gain from reclamation, not HK citizens

I do not support any further attempt by the government to create more land through reclamation projects.

The reason for my opposition is simple. The land obtained from any reclamation plan will not end up making Hong Kong more spacious and a better place to live.

1 Mar 2012 - 12:00am

Reclamation advantages spelled out at forum

Land reclamation is not all bad if there is careful planning with the livelihoods of Hongkongers as the top priority, a public forum held by the government heard yesterday.

12 Feb 2012 - 12:00am

Repurposing the Earth

What's land reclamation?

Land reclamation is the process which creates new land from sea- or river-beds. It most commonly means converting wetlands or waterways into land for development.

The term can also mean the process of restoring damaged land to its natural state. The land reclaimed is known as reclamation ground or landfill.

8 Feb 2012 - 12:00am

Free up space in land-use debate for reclamation and park development

I agree with those correspondents who argue that we should use up all the land in Hong Kong before we reclaim more.

But do we really still have much free space in the New Territories? Due to the small-house policy, much of the land in this area is used to build these village homes.

8 Feb 2012 - 12:00am

Reclamation plans pose wildlife threat

The issue

In Hong Kong's quest for land, all possible solutions come with criticism. But a recent land reclamation scheme is drawing disapproval from an unlikely place - the world of biology.

7 Feb 2012 - 12:00am

With the correct land policies, government could avoid reclamation

Society for Protection of the Harbour fully supports your editorial ('There's no need for land reclamation', January 30).

For the past 17 years, we have been advocating that the government should properly plan the development of the New Territories instead of reclaiming the harbour and our sea to make land. That should be Hong Kong's proper direction of growth.

6 Feb 2012 - 12:00am

There's no need for land reclamation

A government's job is as much to look to the future as the present. Donald Tsang Yam-kuen's outgoing administration is doing that with its consultation on land supply. But the options put forward - reclaiming land beyond Victoria Harbour, including building artificial islands and use of rock caverns - should be last resorts.

30 Jan 2012 - 12:00am

letters

Man-made islands are the wrong idea

A proposal to build artificial islands off the coast of Hong Kong to provide more space for housing has been released. However, I think this is an ineffective solution.

26 Jan 2012 - 12:00am

Develop the New Territories instead of ruining important natural asset

The government should realise that the beauty and attraction of Hong Kong is because it is an archipelago comprising hundreds of islands large and small. Our sea and our shorelines are an invaluable natural asset which should be enjoyed not only by the present but also future generations.

17 Jan 2012 - 12:00am

Pages