• Mon
  • Jul 28, 2014
  • Updated: 4:46pm

Mikaele Pesamino

Great Britain in qualifying fight for Olympic sevens

England will not be there, neither will reigning world champions Wales. Instead, it will be team Great Britain who will have to qualify along with 11 other men's teams when sevens makes its Olympic debut at the 2016 Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Friday, 3 December, 2010, 12:00am

Samoans 'must lift their game'

Hat-trick hunting Samoa, the hottest team on the IRB Sevens World Series, have their work cut out to win the Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens, coach Stephen Betham says.

Betham was an unhappy man last night after Samoa surprisingly conceded a brace of tries to both Russia (24-12) and Argentina (21-14) in their final pool matches.

28 Mar 2010 - 12:00am

Big guns New Zealand, Samoa and Fiji fire warnings to rivals as battle hots up

It was all about putting down a marker for the next two days for the big boys yesterday. Like kings of the jungle, New Zealand, Samoa and Fiji - the top three teams in the IRB Sevens World Series - came out with the intention of marking their territory and letting all and sundry know that 'Hong Kong is our tournament, we rule it'.

27 Mar 2010 - 12:00am

England say sorry for spoiling party

A dejected England camp said sorry to their legions of fans after failing to get past Samoa in the Cup quarter-finals. But they promised to come back older and wiser next year.

31 Mar 2008 - 12:00am

Samoans make all the right moves

The new champions are Samoa, but they could easily have been joined on the podium by a series of sumo wrestlers, a horde of runaway brides and thousands of other partying rugby fans who make the Hong Kong Sevens a global one of a kind.

2 Apr 2007 - 12:00am