Nobel Committee

French President Francois Hollande and German Chancellor Dr Angela Merkel take the plaudits in the Norwegian capital. Photo: EPA

EU leaders receive Nobel Peace Prize

European Union Nobel Peace Prize winners pledged at the award ceremony yesterday “to stand by” the euro, saying the single currency was one of the strongest symbols of unity in the bloc’s 60-year history.