Furious Caroliners boss in Cup threat

A BITTER row between South China boss Steven Lo Kit-shing and the Hongkong Football Association could result in the season-ending FA Cup losing its sponsor.

Lo and senior South China official Bruce Mok were refused entry to last night's HKFA annual general meeting because of a technicality over the club's registration form.

The pair stormed out of the North Point restaurant, venue of the AGM, after FA officials said the form, which had been sent to the FA last week, was missing the club secretary's signature.

Lo, who is also boss of Regal Films, sponsors of the Regal FA Cup, said he might consider withdrawing his company's backing for the competition.

''We are both very angry over the matter. We sent our registration form before last Thursday's deadline and if the FA thought something was wrong with it, they should have informed us beforehand,'' said a furious Lo.

Mok said even though there were no important issues on the AGM agenda, he and Lo had still shown up to demonstrate their support.

''It upsets me how the FA have treated us. Steven and myself have important business to attend to in Macau, yet we have sacrificed valuable time to come to the AGM and show our support.'' At the meeting, banned basketball official Fung Shiu-wai of Frankwell was voted as one of six junior club representatives by the narrowest of margins.

Fung, who is banned from basketball until the end of the year for ordering his team off court during a Senior Shield match, twice tied with Hui Yee-yung in a ballot but was the winner when the pair drew lots.

Fung is the only newcomer among the junior club representatives; Chan Tung-kow, Cheung Chi-wai, Lee Kang-ching, Yau Shue-pui and Jackson Yu Chik-sum were re-elected.

South China have completed their quota of five expatriate professionals by signing three Dutch players on six-month contracts.

The trio are former Feyenoord striker Ed Roos, who played last season for Dutch Second Division side Excelsior, forward Niels Gerestein and centre back Dennis Kossijberg.