Student champs take centre-stage

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 03 July, 2003, 12:00am
UPDATED : Thursday, 03 July, 2003, 12:00am

THE 2003 Bank of China Bauhinia Bowl Awards will have a familiar ring to it as all three 2002 champion schools have successfully defended their titles.

The annual gala for urban institutions, organised by the Hong Kong Schools Sports Federation, will be held at Heep Yunn School in Ma Tau Wai today. La Salle College have clinched the boys' crown ahead of rivals Diocesan Boys' School (DBS) for the fourth consecutive year.

The rivalry between the two schools stretches back some 20 years. The last boys' school to come even close were Wah Yan College, Hong Kong, in 1984, when they finished second to La Salle.

The last school to win the award, other than the two sports powerhouses, were Ying Wa College, and that was back in 1971.

There has been only one name on the girls' champion prize for the past 18 years - Heep Yunn School.

Diocesan Girls' School have been runners-up every one of those times. The re-emergence of fierce competitors Good Hope School in athletics this year was refreshing.

Co-educational champions Island School have a phenomenal record in this category.

The school have finished in either first or second place 32 times in the past 33 years.

This is Island's fifth consecutive title and their intense rivalry with Hong Kong International School (HKIS) continues.

It is the seventh time in the past 10 years that HKIS, who last won in 1998, have finished runners-up to Island.

La Salle dominated competitions, taking the overall championship in athletics, badminton (Kowloon), basketball (Kowloon), squash, table tennis and volleyball (jointly with DBS), while adding many grade titles.

Heep Yunn were overall champions in badminton (Kowloon), basketball (Kowloon) and tennis.

Island won the football title again, and their girls were best in hockey.

The Most Progressive School awards go to Ying Wa (boys), Holy Trinity College (girls) and Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School.

Ying Wa performed well in the basketball and handball competitions, while Holy Trinity clinched the Kowloon Division Two badminton title.

Hoi Ping's Grade A basketball team blossomed to take the Kowloon Division Two honours.

Full report and pictures in tomorrow's Young Post.

Banking on talent

Boys' school champions: La Salle

Runners-up: DBS

Most Progressive School: Ying Wa

Sportsboy of the Year: Derwin Chan King-chung (DBS)

Girls' school champions: Heep Yunn

Runners-up: DGS

Most Progressive School: Holy Trinity

Sportsgirl of the Year: Janice Lau Chi-kay (DGS)

Co-ed school champions: Island

Runners-up: HKIS

Most Progressive School: Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School

Sportsboy of the Year: Rowan Varty (KGV)

Sportsgirl of the Year: Kathy Mountain (Island)