Hangzhou's historic and scenic sites are not limited to the lakeside. Here are some of the more interesting attractions in other parts of the town: Hefang Street A strip of traditional two- and three-storey buildings, which is closed to vehicles. The charming Hua Bao Zhai (231 Hefang Street, tel: 0571 6332 5439) sells calligraphy, books and scrolls. Traditional teashops and pharmacies rub shoulders with tacky souvenir shops. There are also antiques shops, restaurants, cafes and a couple of pubs. Chenghuang Pavilion 3 Wushan Shangcheng district Tel: (0571) 8703 3300 Beautifully illuminated at night, Chenghuang Pavilion is one of the most prominent traditional structures overlooking West Lake. On the summit of Wu Hill, the seven-storey building has stunning views of the lake and city. Residence of Hu Xueyan 18 Yuanbao Road Tel: (0571) 8682 1131 See how the other half once lived. With moon gates, fish ponds, arched bridges, latticework windows, rock gardens, bonsai plants and balconies, the house provides a glimpse into the life of its former owner Hu Xueyan. The powerful and wealthy businessman lived from 1823 to 1885. Lingyin Temple 1 Fayun Lane Tel: (0571) 8796 8665 Dating back to the eastern Jin Dynasty (317-420), Lingyin Temple contains a gilded statue of Sakyamuni, the historical Buddha. At 24.8 metres, it is the tallest sitting Buddha image in China. Entrance to the temple is via the bucolic Flying From Afar Peak park. Yue Fei Temple 1 Houshan Road, Solitary Island Tel: (0571) 8799 6663 Situated at the foot of Qixia Hill, the temple was built in 1221 in memory of General Yue Fei, who was executed due to political persecution. It was rebuilt during the 1735-1799 rule of Emperor Qianlong. Tiger Springs 39 Hupao Road Tel: (0571) 8798 1900 Cool and shady, the peaceful calm is only occasionally broken by tour guides with megaphones. The spring water is considered perfect for making dragon-well tea. The Green Cliff, the Temple of the Monk Ji Gong, and the Li Shutong Memorial Hall are all worth a visit. Yellow Dragon Cave 69 Shuguang Road Tel: (0571) 8798 5860 Performances of Shaoxing Opera are regularly held at this Taoist temple. According to legend, a dragon was consecrated at the site to pray for rain during the Southern Song dynasty (1127-1279). Yuhuang Hill 1 Yuhuang Hill Road Tel: (0571) 8791 5091 The view from Yuhuang Hill is one of the best in the city. Pagoda of the Six Harmonies 16 Zhejiang Road Tel: (0571) 8659 1401 The chocolate-coloured 13-storey, brick and wood pagoda affords striking views of the Qiantang River, famous for its spectacular tides. Founded in 970 during the Northern Song dynasty, it has been rebuilt many times. The final resting place of Wu Song and Lu Zhishen of the classic novel Outlaws of the Marsh, it is named after the six Buddhist harmonies: heaven, earth, north, south, east and west. The original pagoda served as a navigation tower.