HK to bank on speed

PUBLISHED : Monday, 26 March, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Monday, 26 March, 2007, 12:00am

Speed will be the defining strategy used by the home team at the Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens, with two youngsters joining the 12-member squad this year.

The official 12-man team was announced last Wednesday by the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union (HKRFU).

The squad will represent Hong Kong at the Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens 2007 - to take place this weekend from March 30 to April 1 - and the inaugural Adelaide Sevens, which will take place the following weekend on April 7 and 8.

The squad at this year's Hong Kong Sevens will be led by tournament veteran Nigel D'Acre, marking his debut as squad captain for the Hong Kong Sevens, and Hong Kong's first ever Chinese vice-captain for the Sevens, Ricky Cheuk Ming-yin.

New to the squad are local league standout Colin Bisley and 19-year-old Keith Robertson. 'This is one of the strongest teams we've had,' Cheuk said.

'We've kept some of the usual strong players and we have two young, good talents coming through.

'Colin is a very good player; he's a good [addition] to the team.

'Keith is a youngster who could also add a little speed to the team.

'With Colin and Keith joining, it will be one of the strongest teams.'

This year's Hong Kong team is grouped in Pool E alongside defending champions England, Argentina and Korea.

After a close-run defeat to Korea in the opening match of the Asian Games in Doha last year, the Hong Kong squad will be targeting their pool rivals.

'We're in a tough draw with England and Argentina. We will be as competitive as we can. We'll use team work - we're like a family,' Cheuk said.

Seven of the 12-man squad represented Hong Kong at the Asian Games sevens competition in Doha.

Ivan Torpey, HKRFU's head of performance, said: 'Naming the final 12 members of the squad has been the most challenging experience of all of the Sevens selections that I've been involved with since arriving in 2004.'

Hong Kong Sevens squad

Nigel D?Acre (captain)

Ricky Cheuk Ming-yin (vice captain)

Colin Bisley

Andrew Chambers

Justin Gregory

Kris Marin

Kenzo Pannell

Keith Robertson

Tsang Hing-hung

Rowan Varty

Jeff Wong

Mark Wright