K Wah chairman Lui Che-woo named Business Person of the Year

PUBLISHED : Friday, 07 December, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Friday, 07 December, 2007, 12:00am

Lui Che-woo, the founder and chairman of K Wah Group, was named Business Person of the Year at this year's DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards at a press conference held at the Grand Hyatt yesterday.

Mr Lui was honoured for his 'positive business and social contribution to the development of Hong Kong, and his outstanding and sustained contribution to his organisation'.

He was credited for transforming K Wah, a construction materials provider, into a major player in the property market. The group has also ventured into the entertainment, leisure and hospitality sectors.

In his speech, Mr Lui attributed his success to K Wah's management team and its employees.

'The award is certainly very encouraging,' he said. 'But compared with other international organisations, there is still room for improvement. There are many things we would like to do at K Wah to move forward and to stay competitive.'

The judging panel included David Li Kwok-po, the chairman of Bank of East Asia, who took the Business Person of the Year award last year.

The DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards have eight categories, including two new ones: International Investor of the Year and the SME Award.

'The new categories have been added to provide a broader base to the competition and to recognise the tremendous contribution that SMEs have made to the business fabric of Hong Kong,' said Richard Wong Yue-chim, a deputy vice-chancellor and professor of economics at the University of Hong Kong, and chairman of the judges.

Other winners included Ocean Park chief executive Tom Mehrmann, who won the Executive Award.

Cosmetic products chain Sa Sa International Holdings chairman Simon Kwok Siu-ming won the Owner-Operator Award. Car importer Richburg Corp chairman Eric Wong won the Young Entrepreneur Award.

Media Asia Entertainment, which produces award-winning films including Infernal Affairs, took the International Award.

Bliss Concepts, the creator of animated characters Mcmug and Mcdull, took the SME Award.

Clothing manufacturer Laws Group took the Enterprise Award and Chinese medicine specialist Eu Yan Sang (Hong Kong) won the International Investor of the Year Award.

The awards, now in their 18th year, seek to recognise companies and individuals that have made outstanding contributions to Hong Kong's businesses and industries.