Merit for 61 at Lingnan College awards

LINGNAN College held its Awards Presentation Ceremony for the 1993/94 academic year at the College Auditorium Concert Hall recently.

Opening the ceremony with a welcoming address was Dr John T. S. Chen, president of Lingnan College.

Sixty-one received the certificates of merit. Presenting the certificates were Professor Harry Simon, Dean of the Faculty of Arts; Dr Harold John Wing, Dean of the Faculty of Business, and Professor Kueh Yak-yeou, Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Dr Chen presented the Sir Edward Youde Memorial Scholarship and the Jeanne d'Arc Chen Memorial Scholarship to the students with the best results in the General Education programme.

Mr Wong Chi-kwong, the guest-of-honour, presented Dr J. K. Lee Memorial Gold medals to the best students in the Faculties of Arts, Business and Social Sciences, and the Edward T. T. Chan Scholarship to the most outstanding student of the college.

The Best Student of the Faculty of Arts Award went to Wu Chin-ping, a third-year student in Chinese Studies; the Best Student of the Faculty of Business to Rebecca Kwok Wai-ha, a graduate in Human Resources Management; and the Best Student of the Facultyof Social Sciences to Bonita Leung Ching-yi, a third-year student in International Economic and Political Studies.