Search is on for Hong Kong’s top business talent as 2017 DHL/SCMP awards kick off

DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards seeks to encourage entrepreneurial spirit and recognise corporate excellence

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 06 June, 2017, 10:31pm
UPDATED : Tuesday, 13 June, 2017, 11:20am

The longest-running and most recognised business awards programme in Hong Kong, the DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards kicked off its 2017 campaign on Monday.

There will be nine award categories this year – Business Person of the Year, Executive, Owner-Operator, Young Entrepreneur, International, Enterprise, China Company, SME and Lifetime Achievement.

DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards kick off

The awards scheme aims to acknowledge the contributions made by individuals and companies in maintaining and expanding economic viability in Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta.

The awards are open for nomination until August 18 and the winners will be announced in December.

First launched in 1990 jointly by DHL and the South China Morning Post to boost business confidence amid the global economic downturn, the programme aims to encourage entrepreneurial spirit in the region and recognise the excellent standards of corporate management and governance.

Seven of the judges this year are winners from last year’s programme – Techtronic Industries chairman Horst Pudwill, Gammon Construction chief executive Thomas Ho, MotherApp founder and chief executive officer Ken Law , A.S. Watson Group’s chief operating officer Malina Ngai, Shenzhou International Group Holdings executive director and chairman Ma Jianrong, Guangzhou Automobile Group’s executive director and standing deputy general manager Wu Song, and Butchers Clib founder and managing director Jonathan Glover.

Also joining them as judges are Richard Wong, a professor at the University of Hong Kong; DHL Express Hong Kong and Macau managing director Herbert Vongpusanachai; the Post’s business editor Eugene Tang; Janice Choi, director of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce’s ladies committee; HSBC head of commercial banking Terence Chiu; Junior Chamber International Hong Kong national president Teresa Poon; Hong Kong Trade Development Council deputy executive director Raymond Yip; CPA Australia’s divisional president for greater China Ivan Au; Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce CEO Shirley Yuen.

The Hong Kong Business Awards website can be found here.

(The story has been amended to add more names of the judging panel to the article published on June 6)