La La Land’s Damien Chazelle wins Directors Guild prize as politicised awards season continues

La La Land cements front-runner status for Oscar glory, as awards ceremony attendees assume politicised stances in opposition to Trump presidency

PUBLISHED : Monday, 06 February, 2017, 11:48am
UPDATED : Monday, 06 February, 2017, 1:03pm

On Saturday night in Beverly Hills, La La Land director Damien Chazelle took home the top honour at the 69th annual Directors Guild of America Awards, further cementing his front-runner status going into this month’s Oscars.

“I wrote this movie six years ago in a very different time, in what seemed for me a more hopeful time in the world,” Chazelle said backstage, addressing national anxieties under US President Donald Trump that have seeped into Hollywood’s glitzy awards season. “I would hope that the movie gives some kind of hope.”

Your guide to the La La Land backlash: eight things people hate

DGA President Paris Barclay set the tone for a politicised show at the top of the non-televised awards, held inside the Beverly Hilton International Ballroom. In the same room one week ago, the Producers Guild Awards ceremony played host to heightened emotions – and loud boos for Trump-friendly The Apprentice producer Mark Burnett – from the podium.

“The DGA is and always will be a home for all directors,” said Barclay, earning a standing ovation. “If any person or any group of people, in the name of greater greatness, chooses to block, or to prevent, or to scapegoat, or to separate, or to divide the very people who are all about bringing people together, then we are going to stand with those people.”

Chazelle’s win solidifies his lead in the best director Oscar race, where he’s up against DGA competitors Barry Jenkins (Moonlight), Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester By The Sea), and Denis Villeneuve ( Arrival ), as well as Hacksaw Ridge director Mel Gibson, who was not nominated for the DGA.

Winning the DGA award for best dramatic series, Game of Thrones director Miguel Sapochnik gave a shout out to his crew, including cinematographer Fabian Wagner, who won at the ASC Awards the same night. Editor Tim Porter won the ACE Eddie award on the same Beverly Hilton stage last week.

2017 Oscar nominations: La La Land lets Hollywood revel in its own image, Mel Gibson is back, and black nominees most ever

Australian director Garth Davis, the only filmmaker nominated in two categories, won the first-time feature award for Lion. Onstage he dedicated the award to the film’s young child actors, including 8-year-old star Sunny Pawar, who climbed a footstool later in the evening to introduce his director alongside co-star Nicole Kidman.

Ezra Edelman nabbed best documentary honours for his eight-hour non-fiction epic O.J.: Made In America – a prize presented to him onstage by The People vs. O.J. Simpson stars Cuba Gooding Jr. and Sarah Paulson.

Tina Mabry, a first-time DGA winner in the children’s programme category for Amazon’s civil rights era drama An American Girl Story – Melody 1963: Love Has To Win, delivered the night’s most powerful speech onstage.

“This is a country that is for everybody no matter where you come from or who you are,” Mabry said. “This is a country that made my marriage legal.”

Mabry spurred her audience of fellow directors toward putting concern into action.

“1953 is starting to resemble 2017. Now the question is, what are we going to do about it?” she said.

La La Land, Moonlight continue run with Directors Guild Award nominations

Another of this year’s female DGA winners was Veep director Becky Martin, who took home the award for Best Comedy Series for her work on the “Inauguration” episode of the HBO show.

In an additional score for HBO, Steven Zaillian won in the movies for television and mini-series category for directing the crime programme The Night Of.

Variety/Talk/News/Sports awards went to Glenn Weiss, director of CBS’ 70th Tony Awards broadcast (Specials) and 11-time nominee Don Roy King, who won for directing Saturday Night Live with guest host Dave Chappelle.

Also during the night, Gale Anne Hurd presented the Frank Capra Achievement Award to producer Marie Cantin; Christine Lahti introduced the Robert B. Aldrich Service Award to her husband, West Wing producer Thomas Schlamme; and Barclay, Michael Apted, Martha Coolidge, Taylor Hackford and Gene Reynolds presented the DGA Presidents Award to Jay D. Roth.

Who’ll win? The pros and cons of the Oscar best picture nominees

Billy Crudup, Michael Fassbender and Christopher Nolan came onstage to present Ridley Scott with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Scott, citing the night’s many political speeches, declined to add his voice to the conversation: “There’s been a lot of talk about politics tonight and I’m best off not talking about it,” he said.

Plenty of other presenters and winners did opt to take advantage of their platform. Capping the evening, Oscar-winning director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, proudly proclaiming his Mexican nationality, presented the final award to Chazelle with a message to his peers.

“The story being written now is a bad remake … only way we will win and recoup a strong narrative is by telling good, complex and truthful human stories,” he said. “No alternative facts or statistics will defeat that.”