101 yellow jerseys of Paris

Apart from the first and second world wars, the Tour de France has been held every year since 1903 when journalist Geo Lesevre at L'Auto magazine envisaged a cycle race across the country. Some 60 pioneers set off on July 1 and after six stages only 21 finished. Just over a century later, there are now around 20 stages and here we look at past winners.