Leung Chun-ying supporters beat the Henry Tang Ying-yen camp

'Leung camp' ends with 10 seats in functional constituencies to nine for backers of his rival

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 11 September, 2012, 12:00am
UPDATED : Tuesday, 19 June, 2018, 5:54pm

Six people who backed Leung Chun-ying in the vote for chief executive won trade-based seats, including two previously held by legislators who supported Henry Tang Ying-yen in the chief executive election.

Four others were returned unopposed.

The "Tang Camp", seen as representing powerful figures in the last administration, holds nine trade-based seats, eight of which it won unopposed.

Pan-democrats grabbed six functional constituency seats, two more than last time.

The six winners in the "Leung Camp" - Steven Ho Chung-yin (agriculture and fisheries); Christopher Cheung Wah-fung (financial services); Lo Wai-kwok (engineering); Tony Tse Wai-tsuen (architectural, surveying and planning); Yiu Si-wing (tourism); and Ma Fung-kwok (sports, performing arts, culture and publication) - either nominated or voted for Leung in the election in March.

Cheung said the Legco election result had nothing to do with him switching his support to Leung at the last minute in March. "As long as we are united under a Hong Kong camp, we can do some good for the economy", he said.

The pan-democrats managed to keep four trade-based seats and bagged two more.

In the information technology sector, Charles Mok of the Professional Commons unseated Samson Tam Wai-ho. He won 2,828 votes, ahead of Tam by 765.

Mok said one of his key tasks would be to start a Legco debate about an intellectual-property- rights bill. "I understand internet users are concerned about a bill that would curb freedom of expression," he said.

In the accountancy sector, Kenneth Leung Kai-cheong, also of the Professional Commons, beat Nelson Lam Chi-yuen. Lam was backed by Paul Chan Mo-po, who occupied the seat before becoming development minister. Leung won 7,701 votes, beating Lam by 1,163.

The legal sector seat was successfully transferred from the Civic Party's Margaret Ng Ngoi-yee to party member and barrister Dennis Kwok Wing-hang. Kwok, with 2,528 votes, 558 ahead of ex-Law Society president Albert Wong Kwai-huen.

"Hongkongers always have a higher expectation towards the legal sector representative, especially at a time when human rights and press freedoms are at risk," Kwok said.

The Professional Teachers' Association's Ip Kin-yuen retained a seat in the education sector after Cheung Man-kwong did not seek re-election. Dr Leung Ka-lau kept his seat in the medical sector, as did Peter Cheung Kwok-che in the social welfare sector and Joseph Lee Kok-long in the health service sector.