European Union

Panic erupts as gun is fired in crowd in Belgian train station

Police said surveillance video showed one suspect shooting into the ground in Brussels’ busy Midi station on Wednesday

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 10 May, 2018, 1:15am
UPDATED : Thursday, 10 May, 2018, 1:49am

A gun shot into the ground caused panic at Brussels’ busy Midi train station, setting off a major police operation and forcing two platforms to close Wednesday.

Brussels police said surveillance video showed one suspect shooting downward with a gun just after 5pm CET (midday EDT, midnight HKT) before fleeing the station. Some of the evening rush-hour commuters bolted out after hearing the shot.

Two London teens, 12 and 15, shot 1 day after fatal shooting of man, 19

Ine Van Wymersch of the prosecutor’s office said that police immediately arrived at the scene and closed off part of the building for further checks.

She said that no one was injured and that authorities were searching for the suspect. The area where the shot was fired was cordoned off.

The bullet shells have been recovered and sent to the lab for ballistic checks, she said.

Man who idolised Parkland shooting suspect fires on cars then kills himself

Major Belgian media reported that a “detonation” had caused Brussels Midi station to be evacuated by the police. Both the police and prosecutors denied it. 

Police and security services are still a very visible presence in Belgium’s main rail stations following the 2016 bomb attacks at the airport and subway system which killed 32 people.