Cricket Hong Kong

Seven HK players in Kowloon Cricket Club squad for Singapore T20 event

Waqas Barkat captains a side who include Hong Kong skipper Babar Hayat against top teams from Australia, Sri Lanka and South Africa

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 27 June, 2017, 7:32pm
UPDATED : Tuesday, 27 June, 2017, 7:32pm

Seven Hong Kong players are part of a 13-man Kowloon Cricket Club (KCC) team to take part in the Singapore Cricket Club T20 tournament from August 11-13, featuring some of the best club teams in the world.

KCC player Waqas Barkat captains the side, who also include fellow internationals Kinchit Shah and Matthew Stiller (also KCC), Hong Kong skipper Babar Hayat (Little Sai Wan), Ehsan Khan (LSW) and Nizakat Khan (Hong Kong Cricket Club). Also included is Hong Kong A player Karandeep Singh (LSW).

“The standard of this tournament is by far the best club T20 tournament in the world and to play back to back games in the Singapore heat is such a big test for us and a great way to prepare for our season ahead,” said Waqas.

Other international teams competing are Melbourne Cricket Club and Sydney Cricket Ground from Australia, Madras Cricket Club from India, South Africa’s Rowlin National Academy and Sinhalese Sports Club, from Sri Lanka. Hosts Singapore will field two teams.

Youngster Adit Gorawara is picked after earning the runner-up award for KCC’s junior cricketer of the year last season.

“If you look at the talent of the squad we have and the fact most of these players have played in the Hong Kong T20 Blitz and performed well is very exciting for us as a club but also for the tournament itself,” said KCC director of cricket Charlie Burke.

“The squad has such a great mix with over 135 games of international experience as well as young stars in the making, such as Adit Gorawara who was one of our best-performing junior cricketers last season and Karandeep Singh who I think we will see on our TV’s very soon in a Hong Kong shirt.”


Suhaib Ahmad, Ashley Caddy, Waqas Barkat (captain), Sunny Bhimsaria, Adit Gorawara, Babar Hayat (Little Sai Wan CC), Ehsan Khan (Little Sai Wan CC), Nizakat Khan (Hong Kong CC), Scott McKechnie, Matthew Stiller, Kinchit Shah, Vishal Sharma, Karandeep Singh (Little Sai Wan CC), Matthew Collins (Tour Manager), Charlie Burke (Tour Coach)