Cricket Hong Kong

Hong Kong Sixes draw and schedule: hosts face South Africa in opener

The eight teams are divided into two pools of four with the quarter-finals starting on day two

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 19 October, 2017, 6:27pm
UPDATED : Friday, 27 October, 2017, 9:42am

Hong Kong will take on South Africa in the opening match of the Hong Kong World Sixes as the playing pools and schedule were announced on Thursday.

South Africa, who won the event when it was last held in 2012, the Marylebone Cricket Club and five-time champions Pakistan join Hong Kong in group A.

Group B kicks off with Sri Lanka up against Bangladesh, with New Zealand Kiwis and Australia the other two teams who will vie for top seeding on finals day.

The fastest paced cricket tournament in the world will see all 12 group matches played on Saturday, with all finals of both the Cup and Plate championships played out on Sunday.

Sunday’s fixture list also includes an exhibition match to kick off day two, with the Hong Kong women’s team facing off against the Hong Kong Dragons

“Seeding teams for this event has been particularly difficult with many unknown factors. As expected most teams are stacked with young talented guys sent to hone their skills. The MCC and NZ Kiwis add a balance to that equation so the draw has allowed for five-time champions Pakistan to play MCC and for Australia to play New Zealand Kiwis as the last two matches in an intriguing finale to the packed 12 match schedule on the first day,” said tournament director Glyn Davies.

“Anything can happen in Sixes cricket and Sri Lanka, a traditional crowd favourite, along with Hong Kong have always had an influence in every event to date so anyone can win.”

Play commences at 8am each day with the final on Sunday expected to start at 4.15pm local time and featuring eight overs a side. All other games outside the Plate final (six overs) will be five overs each team.

Pools and draw

Group A: Hong Kong, South Africa, Pakistan, Marylebone Cricket Club.

Group B: Australia, New Zealand Kiwis, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh.

October 28 group stage

0800-0845: Hong Kong v South Africa, pool A

0845-0930: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, pool B

0930-1015: Pakistan v Hong Kong, pool A

1015-1100: Australia v Sri Lanka, pool B

1100-1145: MCC v South Africa, pool A

1145-1230: New Zealand Kiwis v Bangladesh, pool B

1230-1315: Hong Kong v MCC, pool A

1315-1400: New Zealand Kiwis v Sri Lanka, pool B

1400-1445: South Africa v Pakistan, pool A

1445-1530: Bangladesh v Australia, pool B

1530-1615: MCC v Pakistan, pool A

1615- 1700: New Zealand Kiwis v Australia, pool B

October 29

0800-0845: HKW v Dragons

0845-0930: 1 v 8

0930-1015: 2 v 7

1015-1100: 3 v 6

1100-1145: 4 v 5

1145-1230: Cup semi one

1230-1315: Plate semi one

1315-1400: Cup semi two

1400-1445: Plate semi two

1445-1530: 3rd place play-off

1530-1615: Plate final six overs

1615- 1700: Cup Final eight overs