Hong Kong T20 Blitz

Hung Hom JD Jaguars banking on Hong Kong players and Aussie Chris Lynn to grab T20 Blitz glory

They finished third in the 2017 and the franchise owners are keen to take the ultimate prize next year

PUBLISHED : Monday, 27 November, 2017, 5:13pm
UPDATED : Monday, 27 November, 2017, 10:59pm

Hung Hom JD Jaguars are hoping their Hong Kong representatives along with Australian recruit Chris Lynn can carry them to victory at the 2018 Hong Kong T20 Blitz in February.

The Jaguars, after failing to make the final of the 2017 edition, are working even harder to make an impact at the next event. They will field five Hong Kong players – Nizakat Khan, Scott McKechnie, Ahmed Tanveer, Nadeem Ahmed and Kyle Christie – at the February 6-11 tournament at Mission Road.

Along with Lynn, who became the first Australian Big Bash League player to sign a contract worth A$1 million, the Jaguars believe they have the team to win the third edition of the Blitz.

“After signing some of the best local players, we are thrilled to have Chris Lynn roaring for us,” said co-owner Susan Lulla. “He is not only a brilliant batsman who can single-handedly win games at any juncture, he is also a proven crowd puller and idol for the young.”

The Jaguars finished third in this year’s event with two wins and two defeats. They fielded a team of all-rounders including South Africa’s Johan Botha, New Zealand’s James Franklin and crowd-pleaser and West Indies T20 World Cup-winning captain Darren Sammy.

They have retained Kinchit Shah, as captain, along with Nizakat – their flamboyant batsman who won player of the tournament at October’s Hong Kong World Sixes.

Nizakat also scored a century for the Jaguars at the Blitz.

Away from the actual tournament, the Jaguars management is keen to boost cricket in the community and support development by visiting schools to promote the game.

“We thank all our sponsors who have shown immense faith in partnering with us. PlayerLayer has come on board this year and will be doing all our training and playing kit,” said co-owner Ninad Shah.

Also taking part in the Blitz are defending champions Kowloon Cantons, 2017 runners-up City Kaitak, Galaxy Gladiators Lantau and Hong Kong Island United.

The teams play each other once in a round-robin format with the top two teams facing off in the final.