Cricket Hong Kong
Get more with myNEWS
A personalised news feed of stories that matter to you
Learn more
Nizakat Khan will captain the Hong Kong side for the Challenge League B tournament in Jersey in August. Photo: Cricket Hong Kong

Hong Kong name largely unchanged squad for third round of Challenge League B competition in Jersey

  • Nizakat Khan to captain side, with wicketkeeper Scott McKechnie added in place of injured Adit Gorawara
  • Hong Kong are within touching distance of regaining team’s ODI status, but face stern test from Uganda and hosts

Cricket Hong Kong have named a largely unchanged squad for the third round of the Challenge League B, which takes place in Jersey next month.

Nizakat Khan will again captain a contingent made up of the 14 players that competed in the T20 World Cup qualifiers in Uganda in June. Wicketkeeper Scott McKechnie is the only one who did not finish that tournament as part of the squad, and replaces the injured Adit Gorawara.

With just a point separating Hong Kong and Uganda at the top of the league, Trent Johnston’s team will have no room for error if they are to win the competition and progress to the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-off.

Cricket bosses to move Asia Cup to Dubai as civil unrest in Sri Lanka continues

The prize for coming in the top four of that six-team tournament would be a return of Hong Kong’s ODI status.

In preparation for the Challenge League B, Hong Kong are spending 11 days in the UK, and will play two fixtures against Kent sides, with a game against an invitational team on Monday, and the Kent Second XI on Wednesday.

“It’s has been great to be back playing international cricket,” Khan said. “Despite some of the challenges we’ve faced, I know each and every member of this squad is loving every minute of being back on the park.

“This final round of Challenge League B presents a great opportunity for the senior players to use their experience and lead from the front.”

Hong Kong squad: Nizakat Khan (Capt), Kinchit Shah (VC), Aizaz Khan, Zeeshan Ali, Yasim Murtaza, Haroon Arshad, Ehsan Khan, Ghazanfar Mohammad, Ayush Shukla, Babar Hayat, Shahid Wasif, Aftab Hussain, Hassan Mohammad, Scott McKechnie.

Schedule of Matches: Hong Kong v Kent Invitational XI (Monday), Hong Kong v Kent Second XI (Wednesday)

ICC Challenge League B: Hong Kong v Kenya (August 5), Hong Kong v Bermuda (August 7), Jersey v Hong Kong (August 10), Hong Kong v Italy (August 11), Uganda v Hong Kong (August 14)