Honma Hong Kong Open

Hong Kong Open: facts & figures, past champions and trivia

  • This is the 60th edition of the Hong Kong Open, the city’s longest-running professional sporting event and boasting a rich history
PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 21 November, 2018, 5:53pm
UPDATED : Wednesday, 21 November, 2018, 5:59pm

The Honma Hong Kong Open celebrates its 60th year in 2018 and a strong field tees off on Thursday for the opening round. The likes of US Masters champion Patrick Reed, England’s 2017 Race to Dubai winner Tommy Fleetwood, Spaniards Sergio Garcia and Miguel Angel Jimenez, a four-time winner, and a host of others will be eyeing the US$333,330 first prize.

Here are some facts and figures and some trivia about the Hong Kong Open.

Total Prize Money


Prize money distribution in US$/Race to Dubai points

1. 333,330/460.00

2. 222,220/305.00

3. 125,200/172.00

4. 100,000/137.00

5. 84,800/116.00

6. 70,000/96.70

7. 60,000/82.50

8. 50,000/68.75

9. 44,800/61.33

10. 40,000/55.00

PAST CHAMPIONS (* denotes major winner)

2017 Wade Ormsby (Australia)

2016 Sam Brazel (Australia)

2015 Justin Rose (England)*

2014 Scott Hend (Australia)

2013 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)

2012 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)

2011 Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)*

2010 Ian Poulter (England)

2009 Gregory Bourdy (France)

2008 Lin Wen-tang (Taiwan)

2007 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)

2006 Jose Manuel Lara (Spain)

2005 Colin Montgomerie (Scotland)

2004 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)

2003 Padraig Harrington (Ireland)*

2002 Fredrik Jacobson (Sweded)

2001 Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain)*

2000 Simon Dyson (England)

1999 Patrik Sjoland (Sweden)

1998 Kang Wook-soon (South Korea)

1997 Frank Nobilo (New Zealand)

1996 Rodrigo Cuello (Philippines)

1995 Gary Webb (USA)

1994 David Frost (South Africa)

1993 Brian Watts (USA)

1992 Tom Watson (USA)*

1991 Bernhard Langer (Germany)*

1990 Ken Green (USA)

1989 Brian Claar (USA)

1988 Hsieh Chin-sheng (Taiwan)

1987 Ian Woosnam (Wales)*

1986 Seichi Kanai (Japan)

1985 Mark Aebli (USA)

1984 Bill Brask (USA)

1983 Greg Norman (Australia)*

1982 Kurt Cox (USA)

1981 Chen Tze-ming (Taiwan)

1980 Kuo Chi-hsiung (Taiwan)

1979 Greg Norman (Australia)*

1978 HsiehYung-yo (Taiwan)

1977 Hsieh Min-nan (Taiwan)

1976 Ho Ming-chung (Taiwan)

1975 Hsieh Yung-yo (Taiwan)

1974 Lu Liang-huan (Taiwan)

1973 Frank Phillips (Australia)

1972 Walter Godfrey(New Zealand)

1971 Orville Moody (USA)*

1970 Isao Katsumata (Japan)

1969 Teruo Sugihara (Japan)

1968 Randall Vines (Australia)

1967 Peter Thomson (Australia)*

1966 Frank Phillips (Australia)

1965 Peter Thomson (Australia)*

1964 Hsieh Yung-yo (Taiwan)

1963 Hsieh Yung-yo (Taiwan)

1962 Len Woodward (USA)

1961 Kel Nagle (Australia)*

1960 Peter Thomson (Australia)*

1959 Lu Liang-huan (Taiwan)


Length – 6,700 yards


Type of grass – Bermuda

Height of cut – 2.8 mm

Speed/stimpmeter reading - 12’3’’


Type of grass – Bermuda/Zoysia

Height of cut –- 9mm

General width and contouring – Average width


Type of grass - Bermuda

Height of cut – Tees 8 mm/Collars 9 mm


  • This year’s tournament is the 60th event and was first played in 1959. It is Hong Kong’s longest-running professional sporting event.
  • It is the second straight year that Hong Kong will kick off the European Tour season.
  • The tournament is part of the European Tour for the 18th time, having joined the schedule in 2002.
  • In 2017, Wade Ormsby became the fifth sixth player to win a first European Tour title in Hong Kong after Fredrik Jacobson (2003), Jose Manuel Lara (2007), Lin Wen-tang (2009), Scott Hend (2014) and Sam Brazel (2016).
  • In 2013, December, Miguel Angel Jimenez became the oldest winner on the European Tour, aged 49 years and 337 days, by winning in Hong Kong. He beat his own record and became the first golfer aged 50 or above to win on the Tour at the Open de Espana in 2014.
  • That was Jimenez’s record fourth victory in Hong Kong after 2005, 2008 and 2012.
  • There are 11 major winners among the Hong Kong Open honours list – Peter Thomson, Ken Nagle, Orville Moody, Greg Norman, Ian Woosnam, Bernhard Langer, Tom Watson, Jose Maria Olazabal, Padraig Harrington, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose.
  • The 59 Hong Kong Open events so far has produced 48 different winners from 17 countries.


Tickets for 2018 are now on sale via ticket flap at Ticketflap

Thursday 22nd & Friday 23rd November Free Entry

(register for up to two tickets per person at Ticketflap)

Saturday, 24th November HK$400

Sunday, 25th November HK$400

Season Pass to all four days of the tournament HK$600

A season pass is inclusive of entry to Thursday and Friday play. Please bring your season pass with you for entry inspection each day.

Registration for free tickets on 22nd and 23rd November is required for spectators aged 21-and-over only. Fans under the age of 21, or 60 years of age or older, can enjoy free entry to the 2018 Hong Kong Open across all four days of the tournament with a photo ID containing date of birth.