Macau Grand Prix
Get more with myNEWS
A personalised news feed of stories that matter to you
Learn more
The Guia street circuit is always exciting for drivers and spectators. Photo: Macau Grand Prix

Darryl O’Young joins stellar cast for 69th Macau Grand Prix

  • Two-time and reigning Formula 4 Macau Grand Prix champion Charles Leong Hon Chio returns to defend crown
  • Quadruple Macau GT Cup champion Edoardo Mortara joined by race winners Maro Engel, Raffaele Marciello and Darryl O’Young

Entries for the 69th Macau Grand Prix have been announced, with the seven-race line-up for the November 17-20 spectacular featuring an array of motorsport talent across four disciplines all set to compete on the Guia Circuit.

Defending champion Darryl O’Young leads a star-studded field for the Galaxy Entertainment Macau GT Cup, while the race will be on to unseat two-time Formula 4 Macau Grand Prix winner Charles Leong Hon Chio.

O’Young will again tackle the 6.2km circuit in a Mercedes-AMG run by his own Hong Kong-based Craft-Bamboo Racing squad. He will be on the hunt for a second-consecutive triumph, and his third in total.

Another victory would make him the second-most successful driver in the history of the Macau GT Cup behind four-time winner Edoardo Mortara.

Hong Kong star driver Darryl O’Young on the podium after he wins the 2021 Macau Grand Prix GT Cup final round. Photo: Craft Bamboo Racing

But he faces stiff competition – including Mortara himself. The man known as “Mr Macau”, thanks to those four wins and Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix crowns in 2009 and 2010, will return for the first time since 2019.

Mortara will be on the hunt for a fifth Macau GT Cup win driving an R8 LMG GT3 evo II run by the Audi Sport Asia Team Absolute squad.

Another contender will be O’Young’s Craft-Bamboo teammate, Maro Engel. Like O’Young, the German will be looking for a third victory, having previously won the event in 2014 and 2015. He was also well in control of the 2013 race, when a puncture took him out on the penultimate lap.


A 25-strong field featuring drivers from the mainland, Macau and Hong Kong will battle it out for honours in the Wynn Macau Guia Race – TCR Asia Challenge.

Lo Sze Ho, third in the race in 2020 and second on the road last year before he was disqualified, is back in a Z-Challenger Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR – one of two such models, alongside the Z.SPEED version of Tan Tzer Szen.

Macau driver Filipe de Souza is another contender in his Champ Motorsport Audi RS 3 LMS TCR. He is one of seven ‘home’ racers in the field, while the Audi is again the most popular car on the entry list – with 10 set to participate.

The Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix also returns for its 54th edition after a three-year hiatus. Eleven of the 15 riders will be making their Guia Circuit debuts, with Nadieh Schoots making headlines as she becomes the first female rider to take part in the race.