UCI Track Cycling World Championships, Hong Kong 2017

Six-time Olympic champ Jason Kenny to miss Hong Kong Track World Championships

The star is taking a break to be with his fellow Olympic gold medallist wife, who is expecting a baby

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 09 March, 2017, 12:06pm
UPDATED : Thursday, 09 March, 2017, 10:55pm

Hong Kong cycling fans will miss out on seeing Great Britain’s six-time Olympic champion Jason Kenny after he pulled out of next month’s Track World Championships.

Jason Kenny, who won his sixth gold in Rio, is taking an extended break to be with his pregnant wife Laura – also an Olympic champion. They announced last month they were expecting their first child after getting married last September and it is not a major shock that they are out.

Ed Clancy too will miss the event, also on an extended post-Olympics break.

GB’s team for the April 12-16 event at Tseung Kwan O Velodrome will see 10 riders debut, though it is still packed with Olympic talent, with gold medallists Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Steven Burke and Callum Skinner included.

British Cycling head coach Iain Dyer said in a statement: “The team is made up of a good mix of experienced and developing riders across all the disciplines.

“Throughout the earlier World Cups and at the UEC European Track Championships last year, there was a good opportunity to bring some new riders into the front line. They gave a really good account of themselves and that’s reflected in the selections we have made.

“I am looking forward to seeing them step up into world championship level competition.

“It is also great to have some of our Olympians in the squad. This year’s worlds will allow them to race different events which were not possible in previous years due to the focus on the Olympic events.

Hong Kong is hosting the flagship event for the first time.

Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Hong Kong, April 12 to 16:

Women’s Endurance: Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ellie Dickinson, Neah Evans, Emily Kay, Manon Lloyd, Emily Nelson

Men’s Endurance: Matt Bostock, Steven Burke, Kian Emadi, Chris Latham, Mark Stewart, Andy Tennant, Oliver Wood

Sprint: Jack Carlin, Katy Marchant, Lewis Oliva, Ryan Owens, Callum Skinner, Joe Truman