Hong Kong Sevens

Hong Kong Sevens teams confirmed: Ireland return and Fiji hunt more success

The local side again compete in the World Series qualifier, with South Africa and New Zealand among top chances in main event

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 01 March, 2018, 8:49pm
UPDATED : Thursday, 01 March, 2018, 8:54pm

Ireland will compete in the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens for the first time since 2000 when they join Hong Kong and a host of other hopefuls in the World Sevens Series qualifying competition.

Ireland qualified for Hong Kong by finishing second in the 2017 European Grand Prix of Sevens and their sevens programme is on the rise.

They will face stiff competition in Hong Kong, with Japan, Germany and Chile among the front-runners, along with the home side.

Hong Kong are looking to put years of disappointment in the qualifier behind them and grab the single World Series place available.

Uganda, Zimbabwe, Jamaica, Uruguay, Georgia, Papua New Guinea and Cook Islands round out Hong Kong's opponents, while South Korea are again the invited team in the main event.

Traditional heavyweights South Africa, New Zealand and Fiji are at the top of the World Series after four legs, with round five taking place this weekend in Las Vegas.

The total of 28 men’s teams once again confirms Hong Kong’s status as the largest tournament on the World Series.

Redemption for Baber as fantastic Fiji blitz Springboks in Hong Kong Sevens Cup final

England, the USA and Australia will also fancy themselves in Hong Kong, while reigning Cup champions Fiji will be hell bent on maintaining their dominance at the home of sevens.

With three wins on the trot, Gareth Baber’s side are bidding for the first ever four-peat in the 43 years of sevens rugby in Hong Kong.

The pool draw will be held in Hong Kong on March 12.