Hong Kong Sevens
Get more with myNEWS
A personalised news feed of stories that matter to you
Learn more
Hong Kong Rugby Union chairman Chris Brooke (left) and Financial Secretary Paul Chan at the Our Hong Kong Sevens launch ceremony at HKEX. Photo: Jonathan Wong

Hong Kong Sevens tickets go on general sale on Thursday, 10,000 up for grabs

  • All tickets available on first come, first served basis, with prices frozen at 2019 levels
  • Local rugby clubs have already sold 16,500, representing more than half of those available
Tickets for the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens in November will go on sale on Thursday on the Hong Kong Rugby Union’s ticketing website from 10am.

While 9,000 event tickets were previously distributed via public ballot, 10,000 three-day tickets will be put on sale for the first sevens in three years, with a small number reserved for any increase in international demand should the city’s Covid-19 policies be further relaxed.

All tickets will be sold on a first come, first served basis, and prices have been frozen at 2019 levels, with a three-day event pass at HK$1,950 for adults and HK$950 for children 12 and under.

Hong Kong Sevens launch: details emerge on tickets, teams and stadium food

Members of local rugby clubs have already bought more than 16,500 tickets, representing more than 50 per cent of the Hong Kong Stadium’s capacity, which is capped at 85 per cent because of coronavirus restrictions.

“We are hugely thankful for the support we have received from our rugby community and stakeholders to date,” Robbie McRobbie, the union’s CEO, said.

“It is comforting to know that we have already sold well over half of our tickets within our sporting community, and we are delighted to welcome the public to welcome the rugby world back to Hong Kong this November.”


The sevens, which run from November 4 to 6, will be the first time the Hong Kong team has played a competitive game at home for more than three years, and they will open their tournament against defending HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions Australia in the final game on Friday night.

The two sides have been drawn together in Group A, alongside New Zealand and Samoa.

South Africa, who have never won the Hong Kong Sevens, have been drawn in Pool B, alongside France, Great Britain and Uruguay, while Fiji, the United States, Spain and Japan made up Pool C. The last four sides – Argentina, Ireland, Kenya and Canada – are grouped in Pool D.