Hong Kong International Test Rugby
Get more with myNEWS
A personalised news feed of stories that matter to you
Learn more
Malakai Fekitoa is one of three star players missing from the Tonga squad for Saturday’s game against Hong Kong. Photo: AFP

Rugby World Cup: injuries leave Tonga without big guns for World Cup playoff against Hong Kong

  • Star trio Israel Folau, Malakai Fekitoa and Charles Piutau all missing from side for Saturday’s clash on the Sunshine Coast
  • Hong Kong are expecting to name their squad on Thursday afternoon

Tonga will be without star internationals Israel Folau, Malakai Fekitoa and Charles Piutau for their World Cup playoff against Hong Kong on the Sunshine Coast in Australia on Saturday.

Outside back Folau, capped 73 times for Australia before his Wallabies contract was terminated in 2019, suffered a serious hamstring injury early in his Tonga debut in the 36-0 loss to hosts Fiji in the Pacific Nations Cup.

Coach Toutai Kefu said the dual code international could be sidelined for up to another 12 weeks.

Former New Zealand centre Fekitoa had returned to Irish club Munster after suffering a calf injury while fellow All Black Piutau had only committed to two matches during the Pacific Nations Cup, Kefu added.

In a further blow, former Australia No 8 Lopeti Timani had also been scratched from the Hong Kong game after failing a fitness test at training on Thursday morning in the Sunshine Coast.

His place on the bench will be taken by Sione Tuipulotu, Kefu said.

Israel Folau is still recovering from a serious hamstring injury. Photo: AFP

Tonga have only missed qualifying for one World Cup in 1991 and should have too much quality for Hong Kong, despite heading into the playoff in dire form after three straight defeats at the Pacific Nations Cup.


The winner secures a place in Pool D at next year’s World Cup in France with reigning champions South Africa, Ireland, Scotland and Romania.

Tonga squad: 15-Telusa Veainu; 14-Tima Fainga’anuku, 13-Afusipa Taumoepeau, 12-Fetuli Paea, 11-Anzelo Tu’itavuki; 10-William Havili, 9-Sonatane Takulua (Capt). 1-Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 2-Siua Maile, 3-Ben Tameifuna, 4-Halaleva Fifita, 5-Sam Lousi, 6-Tanginoa Halaifonua, 7-Solomone Funaki, 8-Sione Havili Talitui. Replacements: 16-Samiuela Moli, 17-David Lolohea, 18-Siate Tokolahe, 19-Semisi Paea, 20-Sione Tuipulotu, 21-Manu Paea, 22-James Faiva, 23-Otumaka Mausia.