Asia Rugby Championship 2015

ARFU ushers in a new era with change of name to Asia Rugby

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 02 June, 2015, 11:14pm
UPDATED : Friday, 31 August, 2018, 2:05pm

The Asian Rugby Football Union (ARFU) has undergone its first name change in 47 years and will now be known as Asia Rugby, the sport’s regional governing body said on Monday.

As part of a rebranding programme which includes a revised logo and changes to its social media platforms and website, the Asia Rugby name was announced after the ARFU Mid-Year Council Meeting in Tashkent, Uzbekistan on Sunday and takes effect immediately.

Asia Rugby said the new name and logo were unanimously ratified at the meeting, and the move aligns the regional body with the former International Rugby Board’s change of name to World Rugby.

ARFU was established in 1968 by eight founding members – Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand. Today, Asia Rugby has 32 members and 16 of those nations hold full World Rugby member union status.

Asia Rugby governs the game in a region stretching from Kazakhstan in the north down to Indonesia in the south, and from Lebanon in the west to Guam in the Pacific Ocean.

“Changing the name to Asia Rugby brings us further in line with World Rugby and other regional associations,” said Asia Rugby president Trevor Gregory.

“As the official governing body for rugby in such a culturally and linguistically diverse region, the change of name to Asia Rugby will improve our outreach efforts and further enhance our visibility, helping us to grow the game in the world’s most populous region.”

Asia Rugby is the sanctioning and organising body of the region’s elite sevens and 15s competitions, including the recently concluded Asia Rugby Championship and Asia Women’s Rugby Championship, and the upcoming Asia Rugby Sevens Series and Asia Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.