2018 Fifa World Cup Asian qualifying

A total of 40 teams were divided into eight groups of five teams to play home and away round-robin matches for the group stage of the 2018 World Cup Asian qualifying campaign. Eight group winners and the four best runners-up advanced to the third round of qualification. Hong Kong were drawn in group C with China, Qatar, Maldives and Bhutan but failed to advance to the third round. China are in the final round of qualifying and have been drawn with South Korea, Iran, Uzbekistan, Syria and Qatar.