Asian Sevens Series

The Asian Sevens Series was set up in 2011 by the Asian Rugby Football Union, now known as Asia Rugby, to raise the profile of the abbreviated game and help national teams prepare for the debut of rugby sevens at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Trevor Gregory (right), chairman of the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union, at the official draw for the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens earlier this year. Photo: Nora Tam/SCMP

Find a new rugby sponsor – quick

Make no bones about it. If not for the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union, the world's local bank - well, that is what it used to call itself - would not have got involved in Asian rugby.

  • 1
  • 2