Badminton World Federation (BWF)

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) is the international governing body for the sport of badminton recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Founded in 1934 as the International Badminton Federation (IBF) with nine member nations (Canada, Denmark, England, France, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales), the BWF has since expanded to 176 member nations around the world. Its head office was located in Cheltenham, UK since its founding, but on 1 October 2005, was relocated to Kuala Lumpur. Its current president is Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen.

Kento Momota makes history for Japan. Photo: AP

Momota becomes first Japanese man to win badminton world championships

Kento Momota became the first Japanese man to win the badminton world championships on Sunday, putting behind him a gambling scandal that threatened to ruin his career.

The explosive 23-year-old convincingly defeated China’s highly promising Shi Yuqi 21-11, 21-13 in Nanjing.