NHL (National Hockey League)

The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional ice hockey league currently comprising 31 teams – 24 in the United States and seven in Canada. Based in New York City, the NHL is considered to be the premier professional ice hockey league in the world. The Stanley Cup, the oldest professional sports trophy in North America, is awarded annually to the league play-off champions at the end of each season. The current champions are the Washington Capitals.