North Korea

The Democratic People's Republic of Korea is a country in East Asia, located in the northern half of the Korean Peninsula bordering South Korea and China. Its capital, Pyongyang, is the country's largest city by both land area and population. It is a single-party state led by the Korean Workers' Party (KWP), and governed by Supreme Leader Kim Jong-un since 2012. It has a population of 24,052,231 (UN-assisted DPRK census 2008) made up of Koreans and a smaller Chinese minority. Japan 'opened' Korea in 1876 and annexed it in 1910. The Republic of Korea (ROK) was founded with US support in the south in August 1948 and the Soviet-backed Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) in the north in September that year. 

South Korean soldiers set off to verify of the destruction of a North Korean guard post near the Military Demarcation Line in northern Gangwon-do. Photo: EPA

Soldiers from North and South Korea verify removal of guard posts

Seoul’s defence ministry said South Korean inspectors will visit each of the guard posts on the North’s side to ensure all firearms and troops have been removed. North Korean inspectors will carry out the same process at the South’s bunkers