World Snookeri

World Snooker, also known as the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA), was founded in 1968 and is based in Bristol, UK. It is the governing body of professional snooker. World Snooker is responsible for running and administering snooker's main ranking circuit events. These include the Shanghai Masters, World Open, UK Championship, Welsh Open, China Open and the World Snooker Championship.


The banning last week of 10 snooker players from China for match fixing and illicit betting, in the biggest scandal to hit the sport, is more than a major setback. It is a disgrace.

  • O’Sullivan and World Snooker Tour on collision course over money-spinning exhibition events
  • ‘We are at a sort of crossroads now,’ O’Sullivan says. ‘There’s not enough here for me in the UK to justify the effort that I put in.’

Andy Lam, who is forced to hold a cue with one hand, used to face only able-bodied opponents but is set to compete at the World Abilitysport Games – which could help secure funding.


He also hopes to play in Hong Kong Masters if last year’s event is repeated – and believes taking Ronnie O’Sullivan’s world No 1 ranking is in his reach.

Repeating last year’s Hong Kong Masters is ‘difficult, because of lack of long-term financial commitment from the government’, city’s snooker boss says after Macau unveils Christmas tournament.

Ng loses in second Asia Oceania Q School event and will play only on women’s circuit next season, but coach hopes her form will return now that the burden of qualifying is gone.

10 Chinese players were the latest lured into corruption, but experts from betting, law enforcement, military intelligence and financial fraud are on the trail, armed with data-crunching tech.

Zhao Xintong tried to dissuade Yan Bingtao from fixing, only to be dragged into it himself, verdict reveals after both are banned along with eight other Chinese players.

10 Chinese players have been banned for a variety of offences, rocking the sport, in the latest of several cases in which snooker authorities have dealt out heavy bans.

Lifetime bans for Liang Wenbo and Li Hang, while Yan Bingtao and Zhao Xintong – talked of as future world champions – are suspended for five years and 20 months respectively.

Defeat at British Women’s Open denies Ng On-yee the chance to earn two more years on the tour, with her current card expiring and Reanne Evans taking the final berth.

Belgian Luca Brecel says game will ‘explode’ in Europe after he claims 18-15 win in World Championship final, making him only fourth modern-era world champion from outside the UK.

Belgium’s Luca Brecel wins five frames in a row to stay alive in semi-final at Crucible, with China’s Si Jiahui 14-10 ahead going into last session.

Chinese snooker sensation, 20, continues his remarkable World Championship debut by surging into an 11-5 semi-final lead over Luca Brecel on Friday.

Shaun Murphy is magnanimous in defeat and heaps praise on Si Jiahui, and says the highly rated youngster will become the first World Snooker Champion from China.