‘Drivers License’ singer Olivia Rodrigo reveals debut album track list

  • Judging by the song titles, the Disney star's debut album, 'Sour', featuring 'Deja Vu', is going to spill the tea with its storytelling
  • The HSMTMTS actress' first two singles have already topped the Billboard Hot 100
Tribune News Service |

Latest Articles

Are you ‘social masking’? How to stop hiding your personality and learn to be yourself

Fears of false accusations surround Hong Kong’s new child abuse bill

Horror film ‘It Lives Inside’ has fresh take on immigrant teen story

Olivia Rodrigo’s fans are eagerly awaiting her debut album, which she will be releasing on May 21, 2021.

Teen songwriting phenomenon Olivia Rodrigo has given fans a taste of her highly anticipated debut album, “Sour”, out May 21.

On Tuesday, Rodrigo unveiled the vibrant artwork and track list for her first studio effort. The reveal comes nearly two weeks after she released Deja Vu, a summery follow-up to her runaway hit of a lead single, Drivers Licence.

5 things you should know about Olivia Rodrigo

“I couldn’t be more excited if I tried,” Rodrigo wrote Tuesday on her Instagram story sharing the album cover, which sees the singer and actress flashing her tongue at the camera, her unamused face covered in colourful butterfly stickers. (An alternate album cover with a similar purple hue and unimpressed aura will also be available to purchase exclusively at Target.)

In January, Rodrigo burst onto the music scene with Drivers Licence, which shattered a slew of streaming records and landed atop the Billboard Hot 100 chart — a rare feat for a brand-new artist.

And in February, Saturday Night Live dedicated an entire sketch to the buzzy heartbreak ballad, led by host and Bridgerton breakout star Regé-Jean Page.

Her second single, Deja Vu, drew comparable acclaim and debuted at No. 8 on the Billboard Hot 100 — three spots below Drivers Licence, which now sits at No. 5. According to Billboard, she is the first artist ever to see her first two songs rank among the top 10 tracks in the Hot 100.

“These are great tricks!” Los Angeles Times music critic Mikael Wood wrote of the 18-year-old’s strategic move to craft her first two singles from the same hit-making ingredients.

What we thought watching Olivia Rodrigo’s music video for Deja Vu

Before Drivers Licence, Rodrigo was best known for playing the lead in High School Musical: The Musical: The Series. She has also written multiple songs for the Disney+ show, including its most popular season one original, “All I Want,” and a new tune for the second season, which premieres May 14 — exactly one week before the release of “Sour.”

“[Gen-Z youth] have a particular insight on the world that sometimes adults don’t have,” Rodrigo told the LA Times last year of her approach to writing songs for her character. “If you have a bunch of old white guys in a room trying to write a song for a teenage girl, their experience is never going to be the same as a teenage girl living in 2020.”

Take a look at the track list, which features 11 songs and zero collaborations. What do you think we're going to learn?

  1. Brutal
  2. Traitor
  3. Drivers Licence
  4. 1 Step Forward, 3 Steps Back
  5. Deja Vu
  6. Good 4 U
  7. Enough for You
  8. Happier
  9. Jealousy, Jealousy
  10. Favourite Crime 
  11. Hope Ur OK


Sign up for the YP Teachers Newsletter
Get updates for teachers sent directly to your inbox
By registering, you agree to our T&C and Privacy Policy