- If you want to leave this social media platform because of data privacy or mental health concerns, here’s a guide to removing your videos permanently
- Deleting the app from your phone isn’t enough to completely get rid of your content
Whether you’re worried about data privacy or about how 60-second videos are affecting your attention span, there are valid reasons why it may be time to delete your TikTok account.
If you do choose to delete your TikTok, keep in mind that all of your videos will be deleted unless it was saved or downloaded by another user. So before you do the deed, make sure to save any favourite videos on your phone.
Once you back up the videos you’d like to keep, here’s how to say goodbye to TikTok for good.
If you downloaded the app just to watch videos and never signed up for an account, you can just delete the app from your phone. If you do have an account, follow the steps below to actually delete it.
Important: After this process, your account will only be “deactivated”. In case you change your mind, simply log back in to reactivate your account. After 30 days, deleted TikTok accounts are permanently closed and cannot be recovered.
After you delete your account, the last and final step to permanently deleting TikTok is to uninstall the app from your phone.