Hong Kong Rugby Union

The HKRU (formerly the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union or HKRFU) is the governing body for rugby union in Hong Kong. Founded in 1952 and since 1988 an affiliate of World Rugby (previously known as the IRB), the HKRU organises the world-renowned Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens as well as its own domestic leaguesand age-grade tournaments across all genders and standards of play.

Major development on the cards for Hong Kong women’s rugby

Hong Kong’s new women’s rugby performance manager Jo Hull keeps a watchful eye on player development during a training session. Photos: HKRU

Women’s rugby – the fastest-growing sector of the game in Hong Kong – has been given a major boost with the appointment of two full-time experts to help develop it even further.

Saturday, 8 August, 2015, 11:42am

Hong Kong ref Tim Baker ready for the world stage

Hong Kong's Tim Baker referees a game at the South African Academy of Sport. Photos: HKRFU

Hong Kong referee Tim Baker, ranked the top match official in Asia, is now on the world radar after attending a talent camp in South Africa.

4 Aug 2015 - 9:45pm

Talented Hong Kong teens edge closer to rugby dream at Chiefs training camp in New Zealand

Hong Kong youngsters (from left) Ken Encarnacion, Ray Li Tsz-hin and Ben Tang Cheuk-hang were selected to attend the Chiefs’ under-19s training camp this week in Hamilton, New Zealand. Photos: HKRFU

Three fast-rising youngsters from Hong Kong are living the dream in New Zealand at a two-week training campt with Super Rugby powerhouse outfit Chiefs.

17 Jul 2015 - 9:29am

What winning world games gold means to disciplined services side – and Hong Kong rugby

Hong Kong’s gold medal-winning disciplined services side celebrate their victory over the UK’s Royals on Thursday. Photo: HKRFU

The internet connection between Fairfax in Virginia and Hong Kong has been buzzing overnight with the news that our disciplined services men’s sevens team struck gold at the World Police and Fire Games.

1 Aug 2015 - 8:33pm

First hearing-impaired Hong Kong squad ready to represent in Cambodia

Players from the Hong Kong hearing-impaired team stage a short exhibition match at King’s Park on Wednesday. Photos: HKRFU

Hong Kong’s first representative youth team of hearing-impaired rugby players were given a special send-off at King’s Park on Wednesday ahead of their tour to Cambodia next week.

5 Jun 2015 - 1:56pm 1 comment

WATCH: Hong Kong front up for Chiefs match

The Hong Kong defence get to grips with the Chiefs Development XV at HKFC on Saturday. Photo: HKRFU

Watch highlights from the match between a Hong Kong training squad and the Chiefs Development XV at HKFC on Saturday. The visiting Super Rugby outfit won 28-14, but Hong Kong coach Andy Hall said he was “pleased with the result ... our boys fronted up”.

26 Aug 2015 - 6:00pm

Chiefs Development side edge Hong Kong training squad

Hong Kong fly-half Chris McAdam eludes the Chiefs Development defence. Photos: SCMP Pictures/HKRFU

The Chiefs Development team from New Zealand scored twice in the last three minutes to beat the Hong Kong training squad 28-14 in a practice match at Hong Kong Football Club on Saturday.

12 Apr 2015 - 8:06am

Hong Kong talent set to train with Super Rugby’s Chiefs

Hong Kong's brightest talents could train with Super Rugby side Waikato Chiefs. Photo: AFP

Hong Kong's brightest talent will get the chance to train with Super Rugby side Waikato Chiefs in a new strategic development partnership with the New Zealand team.

12 Apr 2015 - 8:05am

Sevens shows what can be achieved when Hong Kong pulls together

Fans at the 40th edition of the Hong Kong Sevens salute Fiji following their 33-19 Cup final triumph over New Zealand. Photo: AFP

The dust has started to settle on the 2015 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, and already feedback forms are being completed and wash-up reports compiled as we identify what went well and what we can improve for 2016.

1 Aug 2015 - 8:35pm

All that glitters is Asian Games gold

Rowan Varty on the charge in the Asian Games gold-medal game last year, but Japan proved our nemesis once again. Photo: Nora Tam/SCMP

Another Hong Kong Sports Stars Award was pocketed by the men’s sevens squad on Monday night. It was another feather in the cap for rugby but how I wish the accolades were handed out for winning a gold medal at the Asian Games.

1 Aug 2015 - 8:16pm

Shandong tour offers local talent a chance to get noticed

Players from the “Hong Kong Champions” squad get psyched up before their departure on a two-match tour to Shandong. Photo: HKRFU

A squad of promising Hong Kong players from the HKRFU’s Championship and Premiership A domestic leagues have embarked on a two-match tour to China starting on Wednesday.

17 Dec 2014 - 9:59pm

Hong Kong rises above reports of ‘problem’ doping in UK rugby

All players competing in the Sevens World Series, including those taking part in the Hong Kong Sevens, are subject to random doping tests by World Rugby officials. Photo: KY Cheng/SCMP

A report in a UK newspaper this week highlighted the growing drug problems facing rugby, prompting me to ask officials here if the Hong Kong game was squeaky clean. Of course the answer was in the affirmative.

1 Aug 2015 - 8:03pm

My tip for avoiding the Varsity blues … embrace the dark side

Hong Kong sevens captain Jamie Hood scores a try for Cambridge during the 2009 Varsity Match at Twickenham. Photo: HKRFU

The 133rd Varsity Match between Oxford and Cambridge universities takes place at Twickenham on Thursday and whilst it no longer attracts quite the crowd it once did, the fixture still holds a special place in the global rugby calendar and will be shown live here in Hong Kong.

1 Aug 2015 - 11:15pm

Union breaks new ground in drive to create more facilities

Current Hong Kong junior player Calvin Hunter earned his rugby stripes as a Renaissance College student. Today he plays sevens and fifteens for the under-20s national side as well as for USRC Tigers in the Hong Kong Premiership. Photos: HKRFU

The Hong Kong Rugby Football Union on Tuesday marked another key milestone in its continuing drive to create more playing facilities for rugby and other sports in the city when it opened a new facility at Renaissance College in Ma On Shan.

9 Dec 2014 - 7:56pm

HKRFU names elite referees panel, unveils path for youth development

Elite Referees Panel member Tim Baker (left) keeps a close eye on proceedings during the recent Natixis Cup. Photos: HKRFU

The HKRFU on Monday announced a panel of seven elite referees for top-flight domestic and international matches in Hong Kong, as well as the creation of a new National Referee Academy and a Junior Referee Development Programme.

2 Dec 2014 - 7:07pm