MotoGP is the top class of Grand Prix motorcycle racing. Its inaugural season was in 1949, and its record winner is Italain Giacomo Agostini, who won eight titles between 1966 and 1975. The current champion is Spain's Marc Marquez, who claimed his third title in 2016. The MotoGP season consists of 18 races in 15 different countries.

  • Ritual performed by woman of the Kejawen faith was described as a moral crisis for the country, while others called it a victory for Indonesian heritage
  • Controversy highlights age old tensions between orthodox Muslims and minority faiths of indigenous beliefs in Indonesia

Yamaha ace jumps off bike at 215kph before it crashes into wall but Spaniard walks away unscathed in a race that was won by Portugal’s Miguel Oliveira


Frenchman wins for the second straight week to extend championship lead, while Rossi claims first podium place since last year’s Grand Prix of Americas.