Davis Cupi

The Davis Cup is the premier international team event in men's tennis. It is run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format. It is described by the organisers as the "World Cup of Tennis", and the winners are referred to as the World Champion team. The competition began in 1900 as a challenge between Great Britain and the United States. By 2016, 135 nations entered teams into the competition. The most successful countries over the history of the tournament are the United States (winning 32 tournaments and finishing as runners-up 29 times) and Australia (winning 28 times, including four occasions with New Zealand as Australasia, and finishing as runners-up 19 times). The present champions are Croatia, who beat France to win their second title in 2018.

  • Coleman Wong loses to Wu Tung-lin, ranked 847 places above him, after heroics on day 1 and almost a second victory in doubles with Kevin Wong
  • Clear underdogs Hong Kong lose the tie 3-1, but punch above their weight

City stun Taiwan in World Group II as Wong beats opponent ranked 601 places above him, and he will play twice more in quest to turn tables on team who routed them 4-0 in 2019.

Tennis prodigy hopes he can fire up Hong Kong fans with some more heroics in this weekend’s Davis Cup tie after his spectacular run at the junior US Open.


In the Davis Cup World Group II play-offs over the weekend, the Hong Kong men’s tennis team defeated Benin 3-1 over a series of games that were at times incredibly tight.