Formula E

Formula E, officially the FIA Formula E Championship, is a class of auto racing that uses only electric-powered cars. The series was conceived in 2012, and the inaugural championship started in Beijing on 13 September 2014. The series is sanctioned by the FIA.

The shores of Sanya on the southern tip of Hainan – the location for round six of the 2018-19 Formula E Championship. Photo: Handout

Formula E returns to mainland China with Sanya race in season five

Formula E has announced its return to mainland China with the all-electric racing series heading to Sanya province on March 23.

The tourist destination in southern Hainan will host round six of the 2018-19 FIA Formula E Championship, two weeks after the Hong Kong E-Prix on March 10.