Italian Serie Ai

Serie A is the top professional football division in Italian football. It was founded in 1898, and is contested by 20 teams. Serie A has produced the highest number of European Cup finalists: Italian clubs have reached the final of the competition on a record 27 different occasions, winning the title 12 times. No fewer than 16 clubs have won Serie A, with Juventus its most successful team having won the title 33 times. They are the current champions of Serie A having secured a sixth straight title last season.

  • Covid-19 impacted results worse than previous record loss for an Italian club, Juventus’ US$246m posted last month
  • Italian champions saw coach Antonio Conte, star striker Romelu Lukaku and sponsors Pirelli depart after winning Serie A

Tweet showing photograph of defender making gesture while wearing a training cone on her head ‘was not meant to have any racial undertones,’ Italian football club says.

Former player Eder says he hopes Serie A club avoid same fate as disbanded Chinese Super League champions Jiangsu FC after Serie A champions secure Oaktree Capital loan.

Chinese owner of Italian league leaders looking for investment in club ahead of decision to ‘close down’ non-retail business, with questions over China TV rights and CSL champions.

French-born Muslim footballers Franck Ribery, Papa Koulibaly and Moussa Marega among those to share image of blue screen and message of support for Uygurs in Xinjiang following NBA player Rudy Gobert.


Global Lottery Management System warns of dangers to integrity from widespread links to betting companies targeting Asian markets, with half of English Premier League clubs adorning a betting sponsor on their shirts.

Dutch league called off with no champion declared, French Ligue 1 called off until September and Italy’s Serie A may be forced to follow suit, though other ‘Big Five’ leagues expect to play by June.