Uefa Europa League

The Uefa Europa League is the second-tier annual continental competition for European football clubs. Introduced in 2009, the competition was previously called the Uefa Cup, which had run since 1971. The title has been won by 27 different clubs, 12 of which have won the title more than once. Sevilla are the most successful club in the competition’s history having won it five times. Manchester United were champions in the 2016-17 season after beating Ajax in the final at the Friends Arena in Solna, Sweden.

Atletico Madrid forward Fernando Torres finally claimed silverware with his boyhood club in his penultimate game them. Photo: AFP

Torres ends long wait for silverware with beloved Atletico

Atletico Madrid forward Fernando Torres ended his long wait for a trophy with the club where he has spent the bulk of his career when the Spanish side won the Europa League by beating Olympique de Marseille 3-0 on Wednesday.

  • 1
  • 2