Stats / Jockeys / Z. Purton

Z. Purton

Type: Club Jockey

Nationality: Australian

Age: 37. Zac Purton ended Douglas Whyte's 13-season dominance with his first Hong Kong jockeys' championship in 2013/14 (112 wins) and in earning his second title in 2017/18 he halted Joao Moreira's title streak at three. During his first championship season, the Australian ace raced to what was then the fastest 50 in Hong Kong history and became the second rider, after Whyte, to notch 100 wins in a season. Purton lost his title when second to Moreira in 2014/15 with 95 wins, a position he filled for the next two terms, including when notching his second century in 2016/17. His second championship was a remarkable effort as he chased down Moreira to take the lead for the first time that term on June 10, 2018. Five weeks later, at season's end, he had outpointed Moreira 136-134 with a win strike rate of 21% to the Brazilian's 20%. Purton tallied a career-high 168 wins in 2018/19, a season in which he also became the second jockey in Hong Kong history to ride 1000 winners, and in which he set a new single season prizemoney record of HK$234,989,515. The Australian ace took a third consecutive championship in 2019/20 with 147 wins and three Group 1's, his triumph aboard Exultant in the 2020 QEII Cup meant he became the only rider in history to have won every Group 1 race on the Hong Kong calendar. Purton started his career in Brisbane and was an apprentice sensation, winning the premiership there in 2003. He then moved on to Sydney where he was twice second in the premiership. Purton moved to Hong Kong in September, 2007. His major wins include the King's Stand Stakes at Royal Ascot in 2012 and eight at the LONGINES HKIR.

Hong Kong Champion Jockey (2013/14, 2017/18, 2018/19 & 2019/20); Brisbane Champion Jockey (2003 - when still an apprentice); LONGINES IJC winner (2017); World Super Jockeys Series (Japan) winner (2012); Hong Kong single season prize money record (HK$234,989,515).

Notable Race Wins Include
Hong Kong Cup (2017 Time Warp), Hong Kong Mile (2012 Ambitious Dragon, 2016 Beauty Only, 2018 Beauty Generation), Hong Kong Sprint (2014 & 2016 Aerovelocity), Hong Kong Vase (2013 Dominant, 2018 Exultant), QEII Cup (2020 Exultant), Champions Mile (2018 & 2019 Beauty Generation), Champions & Chater Cup (2019 & 2020 Exultant), Chairman's Sprint Prize (2018 Ivictory), Stewards' Cup (2010 Fellowship, 2019 Beauty Generation), Hong Kong Gold Cup (2013 Military Attack, 2018 Time Warp, 2019 Exultant), Queen's Silver Jubilee Cup (2013 Ambitious Dragon, 2018, 2019 & 2020 Beauty Generation), Hong Kong Derby (2015 Luger), Centenary Sprint Cup (2016 Aerovelocity), King's Stand Stakes (2012 Little Bridge), Takamatsunomiya Kinen (2015 Aerovelocity), KrisFlyer International Sprint (2015 Aerovelocity), Singapore Airlines International Cup (2013 Military Attack), Kranji Mile (2018 & 2019 Southern Legend), Caulfield Cup (2014 Admire Rakti), Doncaster Mile (2014 Sacred Falls, 2017 It's Somewhat).

Hong Kong Career Wins
(at start of 2020/21 season): 1,170 (win strike rate: 16.11%).

General Performances
No of wins for season: 49
No of runs for season: 301
Win %: 16.28
No of wins for all weather: 3
No of 2nds for all weather: 2
No of 3rds for all weather: 3
All weather: 26
Total stakes: $80,341,750
Win stakes: $50,659,880
No of 2nds: 52
No of 3rds: 31
Percentage for season: 43.85
Profit/Loss: ($649)
Most Effective Distances
YearHappy ValleyShatin1000m-1200m1400m-1650m1800m-2000m2000m+
DistanceWin2nd3rdLostTotal RideWin%
Happy Valley100013210166.25
ShatinAll weather120011110137.69
Odds of Runners
Draw Year<44-1010-2020+
Draw Statistic
Draw Year1-56-1011-14
Trainer Partnerships
C. S. Shum9922848
D. Hall623718
C. H. Yip5381531
K. W. Lui4441325
P. F. Yiu40138
F. C. Lor3221623
K. H. Ting331411
T. P. Yung321814
A. S. Cruz240612
D. A. Hayes2311218
W. Y. So231511
A. T. Millard10001
C. Fownes102710
D. Whyte13037
K. Hagiwara10001
P. O'Sullivan131813
R. Gibson11349
C. W. Chang031711
John Size00022
K. L. Man0501520
Y. S. Tsui02068