Stats / Trainers / J. Richards

J. Richards

Birthday: Aug 18, 1989

Nationality: New Zealand

Age: 33. Jamie Richards is one of world racing's brightest talents who has swiftly amassed a raft of accomplishments worthy of discussion as an all-time great. At the helm of Te Akau Racing, Richards tore down the record books by establishing a New Zealand record for wins in a single season (160), eclipsing the previous record of 143. He also set the record for Group and Listed Stakes wins in a season as well as a new record for Group 1 wins in a season (13). Born into a racing family, Richards was destined for a career in the sport as the son of a jockey. Early on, Richards started off as an amateur rider before completing a Bachelor of Commerce in Management and Accounting as well as a diploma in Marketing which saw him earn a Sunline Scholarship, involving three ten-week stints abroad in Great Britain, Ireland and the United States of America. Through this he gained valuable experience working at leading stud farms around the world before returning to work for New Zealand Bloodstock and then Waikato Stud. Richards joined Te Akau Racing as their racing manager in 2014 and nearly 12 months later his name was listed alongside Steven Autridge's in the form guide. Together the pair enjoyed huge success before Richards took over in a solo capacity. In total at Te Akau Racing, Richards achieved an incredible 53 Group 1 wins during his record-breaking six-and-a-half-year tenure. Across his time at Te Akau Racing, Richards is renowned for his handling of exceptional talents like Melody Belle, Probabeel, Te Akau Shark, Xtravagant, Gingernuts and Avantage.

New Zealand Champion Trainer (2015/16 [with Steven Autridge], 2019/20, 2020/21, 2021/22), New Zealand Thoroughbred Racehorse of the Year (2018/19 Melody Belle, 2019/20 Melody Belle, 2020/21 Probabeel).

Notable Race Wins Include
New Zealand Derby (2017 Gingernuts), New Zealand Oaks (2021 Amarelinha, 2022 Belle En Rouge), Rosehill Guineas (2017 Gingernuts), Epsom Handicap (2020 Probabeel), Empire Rose Stakes (2019 Melody Belle), Futurity Stakes (2021 Probabeel), Surround Stakes (2020 Probabeel), Caulfield Stakes (2021 Probabeel), 2YO Karaka Million (2017 Melody Belle, 2018 Avantage, 2019 Probabeel, 2020 Cool Aza Beel, 2021 On The Bubbles), 3YO Karaka Million (2020 Probabeel, 2022 Pin Me Up), New Zealand 1000 Guineas (2015 Risque, 2020 Kahma Lass, 2021 The Perfect Pink), New Zealand 2000 Guineas (2015 Xtravagant, 2017 Embellish, 2021 Noverre), Ellerslie Sires Produce Stakes (2016 Heroic Valour, 2018 Sword Of Osman, 2019 Yourdeel, 2020 Cool Aza Beel, 2021 Sword Of State), Railway Stakes (2021 Avantage, 2022 Entriviere), Telegraph Handicap (2020 Avantage, 2021 Avantage), Tarzino Trophy (2018 Melody Belle, 2019 Melody Belle), Windsor Park Plate (2018 Melody Belle, 2019 Melody Belle, 2020 Melody Belle), New Zealand Stakes (2019 Melody Belle, 2020 Avantage, 2021 Melody Belle), Manawatu Sires Produce Stakes (2017 Melody Belle, 2018 Avantage, 2019 Yourdeel, 2021 On The Bubbles), Waikato Sprint (2016 Xtravagant, 2019 Melody Belle, 2020 Te Akau Shark, 2021 Avantage), Spring Classic (2019 Melody Belle, 2020 Melody Belle, 2021 Savy Yong Blonk).

Hong Kong Career Wins
(at start of 2022/23 season): Debut season

General Performances
No of wins for season: 6
No of runs for season: 116
Win %: 5.17
No of wins for all weather: 0
No of 2nds for all weather: 1
No of 3rds for all weather: 3
All weather: 11
Total stakes: $10,434,775
Win stakes: $4,617,000
No of 2nds: 5
No of 3rds: 11
Percentage for season: 18.97
Profit/Loss: ($834)
Most Effective Distances
YearHappy ValleyShatin1000m-1200m1400m-1650m1800m-2000m2000m+
DistanceWin2nd3rdLostTotal RideWin%
Happy Valley10001083143528.57
ShatinAll weather120002018200
Odds of Runners
Draw Year<44-1010-2020+
Draw Statistic
Draw Year1-56-1011-14
Trainer Partnerships
C. Y. Ho30058
Z. Purton211812
A. Hamelin10045
A. Atzeni00077
A. Badel00134
B. Avdulla0211922
C. L. Chau00011
H. Bentley00123
H. Bowman01012
K. C. Leung0011314
K. De. Melo0031013
K. Teetan00044
L. Currie00134
L. Ferraris00011
L. Hewitson01168
M. Chadwick00156
M. F. Poon00011
M. L. Yeung00011